DCSIMG

Eastbourne author set for huge hit

Jenny McLachlan SUS-140718-115747001

Jenny McLachlan SUS-140718-115747001

Eastbourne author Jenny McLachlan’s debut novel has been published by Bloomsbury Children’s Books.

Flirty Dancing is the first in a laugh-out-loud four-part series for readers aged 12 and ove about a group of four (ex) best friends (Bea, Betty,Kat and Pearl) known as the Ladybirds.

Each of the four books will focus on a different Ladybird.

Flirty Dancing tells the story from Bea’s point of view.

When national dance competition Starwars comes to her school looking for talent, Bea is desperate to sign up.

Things get complicated when her best friend decides to enter with her arch-enemy Pearl Harris.

Things get even more complicated when Bea enters with Ollie – school hottie and Pearl’s boyfriend.

Think Geek Girl meets Dirty Dancing (with a bit of Louise Rennison’s Tights).

Flirty Dancing is sure to appeal to fans of Strictly Come Dancing, Britain’s Got Talent and The X-Factor.

It is a hilarious and compulsively readable debut written with effortless humour, by an author who tackles darker and lighter elements with equal panache.

Jenny has spent the last thirteen years of her life teaching English in Uckfield: a job that combines her passion for the written word with her passion for showing off.

It has also provided her with the inspiration for her books and her pupils have been on hand to ensure her characters have current, authentic voices.

Living by the seaside with her husband and two small but fierce girls, she spends her time exploring the South Downs when she’s not writing.

Jenny has appeared on BBC South East Today, BBC News School Report and Woman’s Hour (BBC Radio 4).

Publishers said they expect the book to be a huge hit this summer.

 

Comments

 
 

Back to the top of the page