Wealden Men extend winning run to 11

Have your say

WITH promotion and the league title already in the bag Wealden Men played their final game at home to Horsham and extended their winning run to 11 with a resounding 151 shots to 96 victory.

The pattern of the game mirrored many other home games this season, with Wealden immediately jumping into an early lead that by the interval looked to be virtually unassailable. The teams led by Chris Thomas, Ivan Parsons and Tom Palmer dominated from the start and throughout their games never gave their opponents any hope of reversing the situation.

With the Four skipped by Mike Marshall also coming out on top by 26 shots to 20, a full house of 11 points became a distinct possibility.

But in contrasting circumstances the two remaining Wealden teams just lost out over the final ends. At the halfway stage the team skipped by Steve Perris were 12 shots to three up and, with only six ends remaining had maintained this nine shot advantage.

Over these closing ends the lead was gradually whittled away and, by scoring four shots on the last end, the Horsham combination pulled off an unlikely win. In a closely fought game throughout, the last Wealden rink in play were just unable to overturn a five-shot deficit and lost out finally by 19 shots to 21.

To win the league by such an impressive margin and suffer only one defeat all season in the process was a magnificent performance by the Wealden team and they will enter Division 1 next year with every confidence.

RESULTS: Wealden 130 Sutton 79: Margaret Liston 19 J Barnet 18, Janet Birch 19 S Phillips 15, Rosemary Richmond 17 A Singleton 13, Joan Howson 25 D Hannon 14, Margaret Smith 25 L Skinner 12, Orlow Giles 25 L Maynard 7. Wealden 105 Sutton and District 98: Jonathan Couper 10 R Jacques 27, Kevin Blaxall 23 R Nelson 14, Tony Pipe 16 G Baillie 15, Dave Bissett 26 M Gray 18, Peter Flint 10 P Hewitt 15, Jim Wakefield 20 P Nolan 9. Adur 74 Wealden 112: J Brainbridge 8 Joan Howson 24, S Miller 14 Margaret Liston 25, P Sedgewick 17 June Page 20, M Willard 18 Janet Birch 21, H Hill 17 Jan Noyes 22. Wealden 144 Swale 86: Derek Ayling 31 A Tipler 12, Jonathan Couper 24 A Hudson 9, Tommy Towner 22 E Bacon 17, Gordon Holloway 17 M Russell 22, Derek Heather 23 R Shrubshell 12, Bill Bankier 27 R. Hills 14. Wealden 151 Horsham 96: Steve Perris 15 A Gladwell 18, Alex Parsons 19 M Ives 21, Tom Palmer 28 J Littleton 13, Ivan Parsons 32 B Warner 17, Chris Thomas 31 K Garland 7, Malcolm Marshall 26 G Ives 20. Wealden 152 Hailsham 94: Peter Fry 32 R Roberts 9, Gordon Holloway 26 G Tingley 19, Chris Thomas 32 R Riggs 8, Maurice Awcock 11 E Vine 16, Wendy Botfield 22 G Urben 20, Ali Atkinson 19 G Morrison 22.