BBC newsreader Nicholas Owen reveals winners of Lewes District Business Awards

Nicholas Owen.
Nicholas Owen.

The winners of the first Lewes District Business Awards were revealed by BBC newsreader Nicholas Owen at a gala dinner held last night (Thursday April 24) in the Assembly Room of Lewes Town Hall.

Around 150 people from across the District’s business community gathered together to celebrate the success of its business talent and achievements.

The big winners of the night were Screen Solutions Ltd which won awards for Clean, Green and Marine and for Business in the Community.

And Company of the Year was Cash Bases which also took the award Business Innovation.

In the categories for individual awards, the two managing directors from Cheesmur Building Contractors were jointly named Businessperson of the Year whilst the LEAP Entrepreneur of the Year award went to Jen Porteous, The Tiny Vineyard Co who has plans to become the largest online community of amateur winemakers in the UK by March next year.

Leader of Lewes District Council cllr Rob Blackman said: “These awards, celebrating excellence amongst the District’s diverse business community, have created a fantastic opportunity for many different types of business to come together and celebrate the immense success of the District’s business talent and achievement.

“It’s been a great occasion for businesses to network and I look forward to building on the success of this 1st awards event in the future.”

Chairman of the judges Hugh Burnett said: “We have been delighted with the response to this inaugural award scheme.

“The wide variety of categories has ensured that a diverse range of organisations have participated.

“From family run businesses to national organisations, the finalists represent businesses that are excelling across all areas of customer service, community work, retail, sustainability, innovation and tourism.

“Our congratulations go to all the finalists and our thanks to the sponsors who supported us this year.”

This year’s sponsors included The Santon Group, Knill James, Veolia Environmental Services, Wave Leisure, Basepoint Business Centres, LEAP, Harvey & Son Ltd, The Aldridge Foundation, Lewes District Council and media partner Viva Lewes.

Company of the Year

Winner: Cash Bases Limited

Finalist: Cheesmur Building Contractors

Finalist: Newhaven Enterprise Centre

Small Business of the Year

Winner Badger Inks Ltd

Finalist: The Snowdrop Inn

Finalist: TimelessTime Ltd

Businessperson of the Year

Winner Terry Nitman and Steve Hayman, Cheesmur Building Contractors

Finalist: Mark Beaumont, Infacom

Finalist: Mauro Lazzati, Famiglia

LEAP Entrepreneur of the Year

Winner Jen Porteous, The Tiny Vineyard Co

Finalist: Isabelle Fauchet, Live Digital Media

Finalist: Jodie Deakin, Another stitch in the Wool

Finalist: Sharon Lloyd, Woof it Down

Award for Business Innovation

Winner Cash Bases Limited

Finalist: CTEC Energy

Finalist: TimelessTime Ltd

Award for Business in the Community

Winner Screen Solutions Ltd

Finalist: Mill Laine Farm

Finalist: The Runaway

Award for Best Place to Visit

Winner The Charleston Trust

Finalist: Ditchling Museum of Art + Craft

Finalist: Spring Barn Farm

Award for Best Independent Retailer

Winner Mill Laine Farm

Finalist: Alexis Dove Jewellery

Finalist: Cheese Please

Award for Social Enterprise

Winner National Lifesaving Academy

Finalist: Age UK East Sussex

Finalist: Furniture Now!

Award for Clean, Green & Marine

Winner: Screen Solutions Ltd

Finalists: Firefly Solar Generators Limited, Fletching Glasshouses