Brinky’s boys on a roll at Lewes Skittles Tournament

The winning men's team
The winning men's team
Share this article

There’s just no stopping the all-conquering Brinky’s Boys.

They triumphed for the fourth year in a row at the 48th annual Skittles Tournament, organised by the Rotary Club of Lewes.

The team, Paul Brinkhurst, Steven Brinkhurst, Josh Burgess, Tim West, Craig Wells, Glyn Wells, James Paling and Richard Burt, kept a firm grip on the Lewes Prison Cup by winning Saturday’s final.

The Stan Holland Trophy went to runners-up The Naked Leg Wrestlers.

The Sussex Express Cup for the winning ladies’ team was taken by Anchor Aweigh. Nikki Weadon, Julie Winter, Holly Winter, Alex Charlick, Lucy Rusby and Shannen Haines were representing The Anchor Inn at Ringmer.

Runners-up with the British Legion Shield for the second year running were The Glitzy Gals.

The Passcoe Plate for the highest individual score on Saturday went to Chris Tillstone, and the Millennium Trophy (pub teams) was won by The Black Horse, Lewes.

Nevill Juvenile Bonfire Society won the Bonfire Cup; the Jubilee Shield (for voluntary service teams) went to the Rotary Club of Uckfield; and the Stan Holland Salver for the highest team score (Monday to Friday) went to Rolf’s Didgeridoos.

A week of evening action at Southover Grange Gardens in Lewes saw 110 teams take part – that’s 880 players enjoying beer and skittles despite the rival attraction of the football World Cup.

The Rev Marcus Brown, President of the Rotary Club of Lewes, praised everyone who had contributed to making this year’s event a success.

Gate proceeds will be divided between Lewes Victoria Hospital and St Peter and St James Hospice, Chailey.

Remaining proceeds from the tournament will go to Rotary-sponsored charities, and additional Saturday night donations to a cancer charity in memory of Graham Passco.

Trophies were presented on Friday night (ladies) by Sussex Express Chief Reporter Rupert Taylor and on Saturday by Mr Brown and the Deputy Chair of Lewes District Council, Cllr Ruth O’Keeffe.