Children’s authors to visit East Sussex schools

East Sussex Book Award: Michele Eaton, Megan Rix, Kate Saunders
East Sussex Book Award: Michele Eaton, Megan Rix, Kate Saunders

Children across East Sussex will get the chance to meet their favourite authors, when writers tour schools in the county ahead of the annual book awards competition.

The East Sussex Children’s Book Awards 2014 will see pupils from 50 schools judge the authors to find this year’s winner. To do this pupils will read five shortlisted titles, write book reviews and meet the shortlisted authors before reaching their decision.

As part of the event, organised by East Sussex County Council’s Schools Library and Museum Service, three writers will visit local schools, which will host youngsters from other schools across the area, to talk about themselves and their books.

Cllr Chris Dowling, county council lead member for community services, said: “The children’s book award is now in its ninth year and never fails to capture the imagination of children. Meeting the authors really brings these books to life, allowing the children to learn about their lives and their inspiration, and will hopefully contribute to a love of literature which will last into adult life.”

The visits begin on Tuesday (February 25) when author Christopher William Hill will visit Framfield Church of England Primary School and Hawkes Farm Primary School, in Hailsham, to talk about his book, Osbert The Avenger, a humorously gruesome tale of a boy taking revenge on nasty teachers, which has been compared to the work of Roald Dahl.

On March 6, Sam Angus will talk about her book Soldier Dog, a moving and dramatic story about a young dog handler and his messenger dog during World War One, at Pevensey and Westham CE Primary School.

The winner will be chosen entirely from children’s votes and will be announced at a ceremony at the De La Warr Pavilion, in Bexhill, on June 12.

Other schools getting involved in the event are St Mark’s CE Primary School, Hadlow Down, Blackboys CE Primary School, Rocks Park Primary School, Uckfield, Grovelands Primary School, Hailsham, Ninfield CE Primary School, Dallington CE Primary School, Polegate School, Laughton Community Primary School, Marshlands Primary School, Hailsham, Harbour Primary School, Newhaven, Herstmonceux CE Primary School, and Meridian Community Primary School, in Peacehaven.