Conservatives lose majority on East Sussex County Council

The Conservatives have lost their majority on East Sussex County Council, winning 20 of the 49 available seats, in the 2013 elections held on Thursday May 2.

In second place were the Liberal Democrats with ten seats.

Lewes election count

Lewes election count

However UKIP, which previously had no county councillors in East Sussex, won a total of seven seats putting them in level pegging with Labour, which also has seven seats.

Four of the winning UKIP candidates were in Seahaven, with Phil Howson and Ian Buchanan taking a seat each in Peacehaven from the Conservatives, Peter Charlton taking Ouse Valley East from the Liberal Democrats, while Frank Carstairs won Seaford Sutton away from the Liberal Democrats.

Independents won three seats in the county, including Ruth O’Keeffe for Lewes, whose turnout at 45 per cent dwarfed the county average.

In addition two seats were won by the No Description Party for Polegate Willigdon and East Dean by Daniel and Stephen Shing.

Lewes election count

Lewes election count

The Greens failed to take any seats.

Turnout in the county was 33 per cent. Across Lewes District it was an impressive 37 per cent.

Compare this with the last East Sussex County Council election results for 2009 and it makes for interesting reading.

Four years ago the Conservatives had more than 50 per cent of the seats on the county council, with 29 seats, but this year they have managed just 20.

The Liberal Democrats are also down: in 2009 they secured 13 seats but this year it was just ten.

Labour is actually up this year scoring only four seats in 2009 compared to seven in 2013.

The number of independent councillors has remained steady.

In 2009 UKIP had no seats but has gone from nothing to seven seats.