Coveted first place for Heathfield team


Heathfield Community College’s young athletes achieved their ambition to come first overall ina tough county competition.

The team beat eight other schools to win first place in the Ouse Valley Athletics Championships for years seven to 10. Around 60 students took part and all were determined to beat last year’s overall second place.

For the year sevens, Rebecca Curquejo won the shot put; Sam Monteith the 100 metres and shot and Freddie Clarke the triple jump. Second places went to Elliott Osborne (high jump,) Moana Muller (discus) and Emily Johnstone (javelin).

In the year eight classes, Nicole Baitup won the 200 metres, Georgie Ellis the shot put and the girls’ team won their relay. Lara Furmidge came second in the 100 metres and long jump, Tom Tingley in the 100 metres and long jump, Fin Brown in the 300 metres and M Quinn in the discus.

Jamie Eyres headed the year nines with a win in the 200 metres, Dan Stidder in the 1,500 metres and Harry Farley in the javelin. Second places went to Amy Phillips for the 300 metres, Mel Best for the shot put and Jack Ellis for the triple and high jump. Third places went to Sophie Wates (long jump), Lucy Van Der Gucht (javelin) and Jack Ellis (long jump).

Amy Gibson won the discus for year tens, Will Doherty for the 100 metres and long jump while Charlotte Chapman, Amy Gibson (again), Dan Brooks and J Creasey came second in the 1500 and 800 metres, shot put, 1500 metres and discus respectively.

A College spokesman said: “The team did fantastically well and with the superb results supported by loads of athletes securing fourth and fitth places, coupled with attitude and commitment to ensure an athlete in every event, paid off with the boys winning overall and the girls coming third by five points. Overall Heathfield won by 21 points.”

Meanwhile the Heathfield Panthers netball team won their under 14 league to go through to the play-offs to contest for overall first place.

At the end of the Panthers’ season, a coaching honours award went to Becky Moore for her ‘persistent effort, commitment, improvement in ability and valuable role model’. Players of the year awards went to Charlie Moderski and Amy Edwards.