Laurie takes over the reins at Seahaven branch of the Royal Society of St George

Laurie Holland.
Laurie Holland.

Honorary Freeman of Seaford Laurie Holland was elected as the new president of the Seahaven branch of the Royal Society of St George.

This follows the death of the group’s president Don Mabey MBE last year.

Laurie, who was the first mayor of Seaford, was unanimously elected at the branch’s annual general meeting at the Green Man in Ringmer on Monday February 10.

Branch chairman Bob Peedle said: “It was a momentous meeting because of the sadness of losing our first president Don, who was with us since 2010, but good because Laurie Holland, who was a fellow Freeman of Seaford has taken on the reins and we are looking forward to a very active few years under his presidency.”

Maeve Mabey, who organises the fundraising at the branch events, presented her late husband’s jewel of office to the branch which chairman Bob Peedle MBE then placed around the neck of the new president.

Bob explained Don had bought the jewel himself for a few hundred pounds and added ‘a little bit of Don’ would now stay on with future presidents.

The new post of vice president was created and cllr Steve Saunders from Newhaven was selected. New committee members were Jan White, Frank Holland, Liz Holland and Linda Wallraven.

The next event will be the St George’s Day service and dinner on April 23 in Alfriston.