Lewes county council election candidates revealed

The candidates looking to become East Sussex county councillors for Lewes have been revealed.

Wednesday, 5th April 2017, 5:11 pm
Updated Saturday, 8th April 2017, 10:30 pm
County Hall Lewes, East Sussex County Council HQ SUS-150925-134850001

The authority is currently run by a minority Conservative administration, with all seats being contested in May’s elections.

In the Lewes district the Lib Dems and UKIP have three councillors each, while the Tories hold two seats, along one independent Ruth O’Keeffe.

A boundary review has removed the two-member division of Peacehaven and Telscombe Towns, which is represented by two UKIP councillors. Ian Buchanan is standing in Newhaven and Bishopstone, while group leader Philip Howson is seeking to be re-elected in the new Peacehaven seat.

Lib Dems Rosalyn St.Pierre (Ringer and Lewes Bridge) and Carla Butler (Newhaven and Ouse Valley West), and UKIP’s Frank Carstairs (Seaford Sutton) are not seeking re-election.

Incumbents are marked in bold.


Holly ATKINS, Green Party

Nicholas BELCHER, Labour

Peter GARDINER, Lib Dems

Jim SHEPPARD, Conservatives


Emily CLARKE, Labour

Oliver HENMAN, Lib Dems

Ruth O’KEEFFE, Independent

Howard PILOTT, The Socialist Party

Tony ROWELL, Green Party

Jane SLATER, Conservatives

Newhaven and Bishopstone:

Andrew BRYANT, Labour


Mark BULLOCK, Green Party

Peter CHARLTON, Conservatives

Darren GROVER, Lib Dems

Laurence PULLING, Independent

Ouse Valley West and Downs:

Roy BURMAN, Conservatives

Jerry GOULD, Labour

Sarah OSBORNE, Lib Dems

Anthony SHUSTER, Green Party


Ciarron CLARKSON, Labour

Nigel ENEVER, Conservatives


Lesley ORR, Green Party

Lee ST CLAIR, Lib Dems

Ringmer and Lewes Bridge:


Belinda CHAPMAN, Labour

Philip DANIEL, Lib Dems

Johnny DENIS, Green Party

Paul GANDER, Conservatives

Seaford North:

Phil BOORMAN, Conservatives

Ian CAIRNS, Lib Dems

Mary DE PLEAVE, Green Party

John EDSON, Labour

Anthony WHITE, Independent


Seaford South:

Sam ADENIJI, Conservatives

Steve FLOOR, Labour

Carolyn LAMBERT, Lib Dems


Emily O’BRIEN, Green Party


Charlie CARR, Lib Dems

Deborah HOLT, UKIP

Zoe NICHOLSON, Green Party

Andy SMITH, Conservatives

Julie VAUGHAN, Labour

Don’t miss out on all the latest breaking news where you live.

Here are four ways you can be sure you’ll be amongst the first to know what’s going on.

1) Make our website your homepage at www.sussexexpress.co.uk/

2) Like our Facebook page at www.facebook.com/pages/Sussex-Express/

3) Follow us on Twitter @sussex_express

4) Register with us by clicking on ‘sign in’ (top right corner). You can then receive our daily newsletter AND add your point of view to stories that you read here.

And do share with your family and friends - so they don’t miss out!

The Sussex Express - always the first with your local news.

Be part of it.