Lewes MP Norman Baker releases an album with The Reform Club

The Reform Club - photo by Alice Sleeper-Atkins
The Reform Club - photo by Alice Sleeper-Atkins

Lewes MP Norman Baker has taken his passion for music a stage further ... by releasing an album.

The transport minister uses his singing skills as the front man for The Reform Club, a band which on Monday (March 25) launches Always Tomorrow.

The debut album contains 15 original songs, all written by Mr Baker with guitarist Mike Phipps.

Other band members are Newhaven residents Dave Twaits on bass guitar and Chris Dartnell on drums.

Always tomorrow was recorded in Brighton and Seaford between August and November last year.

One of the songs is called Brightling Church, about the East Sussex church of the same name, a picture of which adorns the front cover.

The album will be available in shops on CD and LP, and on download. A video of one of the songs, Piccadilly Circus, can be viewed now on YouTube - got to http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DDd_deMoUpc

There is also a band website at www.thereformclub.co.uk and a Facebook page.

Mr Baker said: “It’s been great fun making the album and being able to work with some great musicians, both the other band members and our guest musicians.

“Music is very important to me and a big part of my life when I switch off from the day job. I hope people enjoy what we’ve put together.”