New district and town councillors were elected on Thursday (June 29) for Uckfield New Town ward.

Anne Parker, of the Liberal Democrats, won the town council seat with 328 votes from Conservative John Carvey 173 votes.

George Kiloh, for Uckfield First, polled 123 votes and Samantha Bryant, of the Green Party, 32.

In the Wealden District Council by-election, Liberal Democrat Julia Hey was elected with 381 votes fromConservative Party representative Marion Rowland, 211 votes.

Samantha Bryant, of the Green Party, received 60 votes.

The vacancies on the councils were caused by the death of Ian Nottage (Lib Dem) in a road accident.