New Years honours recipients congratulated by East Sussex County Council chairman

Share this article

PEOPLE in East Sussex who have received New Year Honours have been congratulated by the chairman of the county council.

Councillor Chris Dowling is highlighting the East Sussex winners that include county councillor and former cabinet member, Bob Tidy and former county council arts manager, Hilary Lane.

Bob and Hilary both received an MBE.

Chris Dowling said: “I would like to congratulate all the East Sussex winners on the awards that they have received.

“The people being honoured have dedicated their lives to their professions, charities, organisations and local communities in a wide variety of ways.

“In particular, I would like to highlight the awards of the MBE to Councillor Bob Tidy for his services to Local Government and the community, and to Hilary Lane for her services to the Arts in East Sussex - both extremely well deserved.

“It was also great to see Des Prichard, Chief Fire Officer at East Sussex Fire & Rescue Service, being honoured with an OBE.”

The full list of East Sussex winners were:

CBE: Howard SHIPLEE (Etchingham) Director of Construction Olympic Delivery Authority. For services to Construction.


Raymond HAZAN (Seaford) President, St Dunstan’s. For services to Blind Ex-Service Men and Women.

Des PRICHARD, QFSM (Seaford) Chief Fire Officer, East Sussex Fire and Rescue Service. For services to Local Government.


Kate ADAMS (Hastings). Co Founder Project Art Works. For services to Art and Disability.

Miss Alison EVANS (Peacehaven), for services to visually impaired young people in Sussex.

Trevor DIESCH Lately policy Adviser Department for Communities and Local Government.

Hubert GIBBS (Polegate). Volunteer Sussex Police. For services to the Police and the community.

Ian JOHNS (Newhaven). Coxswain Newhaven Lifeboat Royal National Lifeboat Institution. For services to Maritime Safety.

Hilary LANE (Lewes) Lately Cultural Strategy Manager East Sussex County Council for services to the Arts in East Sussex.

Councillor Robert TIDY (High Hurstwood) Farmer. For services to Local Government and the community.

Ms Jess WOOD (Seaford) For services to Transgender and Young People in Brighton and Hove.