Ney mayor selected for Lewes

The Lewes mayor making ceremony was held at Lewes Town Hall on Thursday May 21 where cllr Susan Murray succeeded Dr Micheal Turner as the new mayor.

The deputy mayor is cllr Imogen Makepeace. The ceremony was attended by deputy lieutenant judge Richard Brown, Maria Caulfield MP, East Sussex County Council vice chairman Michael Ensor, the Bishop of Lewes Richard Jackson and Martin Lloyd Williams Archdeacon of Brighton and Lewes.

Here are four ways you can be sure you’ll be amongst the first to know what’s going on.

1 Make our website your homepage at

2 Like our Facebook page at

3 Follow us on Twitter @sussex_express

4 Register with us by clicking on ‘sign in’ (top right corner). You can then receive our daily newsletter AND add your point of view to stories that you read here.

And do share with your family and friends - so they don’t miss out!

The Sussex Express - always the first with your local news.

Be part of it.