Picturing the Past
ARUNDEL Castle dominates the wealth of archive Arundel images held at Worthing library '“ just as the castle still dominates the town.
Set in 40 acres of sweeping grounds and gardens, the seat of the Dukes of Norfolk has been open to visitors seasonally for nearly 200 years '“ one of the great treasure houses of England.
Overlooking the River Arun, the castle boasts nearly 1,000 years of history, built at the end of the 11th century by Roger de Montgomery, Earl of Arundel.
Much of the past century and more has been chronicled photographically, with some gems among the images conserved by the West Sussex library service.
Among the most attractive is the Ralph Ellis etching entitled Arun River Bank and Arundel Castle dating from about 1890. The castle is in the background as old warehouses and jetties line the river bank.
For full feature and more pictures see West Sussex Gazette January 14