A complete guide to West Sussex’s 2021 local elections

West Sussex residents will be going to the polls in a fortnight’s time to cast their votes in a number of different elections.

Election count at the last WSCC elections back in 2017
Election count at the last WSCC elections back in 2017

On Thursday May 6, all 70 divisions at West Sussex County Council will be up for grabs.

Meanwhile voters will also choose the next Sussex Police and Crime Commissioner.

There will be a number of wards up for election at Crawley Borough Council, Adur District Council and Worthing Borough Council.

By-elections for Horsham District Council (Trafalgar), Arun District Council (Brookfield and Pevensey) and Mid Sussex District Council (Copthorne and Worth) are also taking place.

County council election results are due to be announced on Friday onwards, while the Sussex PCC votes will be tallied on the Monday.

Sussex PCC candidates:

Prior to the West Sussex County Council election we spoke to the main political parties about their campaigns.

Meanwhile you can view all the county council candidates standing in Adur & Worthing, Bognor Regis, Chichester district, Crawley, Horsham district, Littlehampton and Mid Sussex.

Going into the election, there are 50 Conservative councillors, eight Lib Dems, four Labour, four independents, two independent Conservatives and two vacancies.

Over in Crawley, 14 of the 36 seats are up for election, with both Labour and the Conservatives hoping to secure an overall majority.

The council has been in no overall control since former Labour councillors Karen Sudan and Rory Fiveash quit the party to become Independents.

In normal times both Adur and Worthing Councils would have no elections at the same time as West Sussex County Council.

However last year’s polls were postponed due to the pandemic, while a number vacancies have arisen at Adur.

At Adur there are currently 14 seat held by the Tories, five by Labour, four by independents, one by UKIP and five vacancies.

In Worthing, there are 23 Conservative councillors, ten for Labour, three Lib Dems and one UKIP member.

Meanwhile for the by-elections, candidates for Horsham’s Trafalgar ward are: Martin Boffey (Lib Dem), Aaron Courteney-Smith (Conservative) and Joanna Kavanagh (Labour).

For Arun’s Pevensey in Bognor Regis the candidates are: John Barrett (Lib Dem), Carol Birch (Green), Jan Cosgrove (Independent), Joan English (Conservative), Simon McDougall (Labour).

Candidates for the Brookfield ward in Littlehampton are: David Chace (Conservative), Jonathan Maxted (Workers Party of Britain), Freddie Tandy (Labour) and Bob Woodman (Lib Dem).

Standing for Copthorne and Worth in Mid Sussex are: Matthew Brewin (Green), Bruce Forbes (Conservative), Norman Mockford (Independent).