Control of Crawley Borough Council up for grabs at next month’s election

Forty-eight candidates will be hoping for good luck on May 6 when Crawley goes to the polls to fill 14 seats on the borough council.

Crawley Town Hall. Pic Steve Robards SR2102021 SUS-210202-115716001
Crawley Town Hall. Pic Steve Robards SR2102021 SUS-210202-115716001

One-third of the 36 seats will be up for election along with those of Francis Guidera (Con, Tilgate), who resigned in March, and Geraint Thomas (Lab, Ifield), who died in November 2019.

Due to the pandemic, no by-election was able to be held for control of Mr Thomas’ seat before now.

Sign up to our daily SussexWorld Today newsletter

The council has been in no overall control since former Labour councillors Karen Sudan and Rory Fiveash quit the Party to become Independents.

There are currently 16 Conservative councillors, 15 Labour and two independents – 33 in total.

The Southgate seat of Raj Sharma, who died in January following a battle with Covid-19, is one of those which was due for re-election.

Whatever the outcome on May 6, Crawley will have a full complement of councillors once again.

The CBC candidates are:

Bewbush & North Broadfield: Shamsul Arfin (Liberal Democrats),David Brades (Conservative and Unionist Party), Michael Jones  (Labour), Richard Kail  (Green Party).

Broadfield: Craig Burke (Conservative and Unionist), Kiran Khan (Labour), Parveen Khan (Liberal Democrats).

Gossops Green & North East Broadfield: Zack Ali (Conservative and Unionist), May Champion (Liberal Democrats), Ben Fletcher (Green Party), Tahira Rana (Labour), Colin Thornback (Reform UK).

Ifield – two seats: Josh Bounds (Conservative and Unionist), Sandra Buck (Labour), Iain Dickson (Green Party), Sally-Claire Fadelle (Green Party), Jilly Hart, (Labour), Lawrence Mallinson (Liberal Democrats), Martin Stone (Conservative and Unionist).

Langley Green & Tushmore: Tahir Ashraf (Conservative and Unionist), Sue Mullins (Labour), Mike Sargent (Liberal Democrats).

Maidenbower: Duncan Peck (Conservative and Unionist), Max Perry (Green Party), Matt Pritchard (Labour).

Northgate & West Green: David Anderson (Liberal Democrats), Smita Raja (Labour), Karen Sudan (Independent), Jan Tarrant (Conservative and Unionist). 

Pound Hill North & Forge Wood: Kevan McCarthy (Conservative and Unionist), Bob Noyce (Labour) 

Pound Hill South & Worth: Olusina Adeniyi (Labour), Cyril Gambrell (Green Party), Alison Pendlington (Conservative and Unionist), Naeem Shahzad (Liberal Democrats).

Southgate: Julian Charatan (Labour), Andrew Eastman (Liberal Democrats), Robin Fitton (Green Party), Simon Piggott (Conservative and Unionist)

Three Bridges: Danielle Kail (Green Party), Atif Nawaz (Labour), Jonathan Purdy (Conservative and Unionist), Paul Taylor-Burr (Liberal Democrats).

Tilgate – two seats: Carlos Castro (Labour), Thomas Coombes (Green Party), Kerry Flynn (Labour), Michelle Morris (Conservative and Unionist), Maureen Mwagale (Conservative and Unionist), Harry Old (Liberal Democrats).

Ballot papers for the borough election will be counted from lunchtime on Friday (May 7), followed by the ballots from the county council election.

The ballots from the Police & Crime Commissioner election will be counted on Monday (May 10).