Crawley local council election 2021: who are the candidates standing in my area? where is my polling station?

Control of Crawley Borough Council up for grabs at Thursday's election.

How many people are standing in the Crawley elections 2021?

Forty-eight candidates will be hoping for good luck on May 6 when Crawley goes to the polls to fill 14 seats on the borough council.

Sign up to our daily SussexWorld Today newsletter

One-third of the 36 seats will be up for election along with those of Francis Guidera (Con, Tilgate), who resigned in March, and Geraint Thomas (Lab, Ifield), who died in November 2019.

Crawley's local elections take place on Thursday, May 6

Due to the pandemic, no by-election was able to be held for control of Mr Thomas’ seat before now.

The council has been in no overall control since former Labour councillors Karen Sudan and Rory Fiveash quit the Party to become Independents.

What does Crawley Council currently look like?

There are currently 16 Conservative councillors, 15 Labour and two independents – 33 in total.

The Southgate seat of Raj Sharma, who died in January following a battle with Covid-19, is one of those which was due for re-election.

Whatever the outcome on May 6, Crawley will have a full complement of councillors once again.

Who are the candidates in my area?

Bewbush & North Broadfield: Shamsul Arfin (Liberal Democrats),David Brades (Conservative and Unionist Party), Michael Jones (Labour), Richard Kail (Green Party).

Broadfield: Craig Burke (Conservative and Unionist), Kiran Khan (Labour), Parveen Khan (Liberal Democrats).

Gossops Green & North East Broadfield: Zack Ali (Conservative and Unionist), May Champion (Liberal Democrats), Ben Fletcher (Green Party), Tahira Rana (Labour), Colin Thornback (Reform UK).

Ifield – two seats: Josh Bounds (Conservative and Unionist), Sandra Buck (Labour), Iain Dickson (Green Party), Sally-Claire Fadelle (Green Party), Jilly Hart, (Labour), Lawrence Mallinson (Liberal Democrats), Martin Stone (Conservative and Unionist).

Langley Green & Tushmore: Tahir Ashraf (Conservative and Unionist), Sue Mullins (Labour), Mike Sargent (Liberal Democrats).

Maidenbower: Duncan Peck (Conservative and Unionist), Max Perry (Green Party), Matt Pritchard (Labour).

Northgate & West Green: David Anderson (Liberal Democrats), Smita Raja (Labour), Karen Sudan (Independent), Jan Tarrant (Conservative and Unionist).

Pound Hill North & Forge Wood: Kevan McCarthy (Conservative and Unionist), Bob Noyce (Labour)

Pound Hill South & Worth: Olusina Adeniyi (Labour), Cyril Gambrell (Green Party), Alison Pendlington (Conservative and Unionist), Naeem Shahzad (Liberal Democrats).

Southgate: Julian Charatan (Labour), Andrew Eastman (Liberal Democrats), Robin Fitton (Green Party), Simon Piggott (Conservative and Unionist)

Three Bridges: Danielle Kail (Green Party), Atif Nawaz (Labour), Jonathan Purdy (Conservative and Unionist), Paul Taylor-Burr (Liberal Democrats).

Tilgate – two seats: Carlos Castro (Labour), Thomas Coombes (Green Party), Kerry Flynn (Labour), Michelle Morris (Conservative and Unionist), Maureen Mwagale (Conservative and Unionist), Harry Old (Liberal Democrats).

Where are the Crawley local elections 2021 polling stations?

When does the Crawley local elections 2021 count take place?

Ballot papers for the borough election will be counted from lunchtime on Friday (May 7),

The County Council elections also take place, the results will follow the borough election.

The ballots from the Police & Crime Commissioner election will be counted on Monday (May 10).

How will the polling stations look in a Covid-safe environment?

Safety measures will be in place at polling places. The council will comply with UK Government coronavirus guidelines to make sure it’s safe for you to vote in person.

Polling stations will look different, be busier than normal and it may take more time than usual to vote in person.

To keep everyone safe and to meet coronavirus rules:

- There may be a change of location for your local polling station (please check your poll card)

- You may have to wait in a socially distanced queue outside the building

- One-way systems will operate in the building

- Staff will be wearing masks and face shields

- You’ll need to wear a face covering (unless you have a medical exemption) and sanitise your hands

- You’ll be encouraged to bring your own pen or pencil

- Polling booths, ballot boxes and pencils will be regularly sanitised.

Who is standing for the West Sussex County Council elections 2021 and who should I vote for?

Do you need more information about voting?

Email [email protected] Tel: 01293 438572