Final Lewes and Wealden county council election results are all in

Lewes and Wealden results from the East Sussex County Council election have all been announced.

Friday, 7th May 2021, 8:44 pm
Election count at Lewes



There are 15 seats up for election in Wealden and nine in Lewes.

By-elections at Lewes District Council for Seaford West and Seaford East were also held yesterday, as well as Hailsham North, Hailsham South, Heathfield North and Heathfield South at Wealden.

Votes from the Sussex Police and Crime Commissioner election will be counted on Monday (May 10).


20.37: GREEN GAIN - Ringmer and Lewes Bridge. Janet Baah (Liberal Democrat) 1159, Johnny Denis (Green) 2291 - ELECTED, Danny Sweeney(Labour) 240, Richard Turner (Conservative) 844.

20.32: CON HOLD - Chailey. Nicholas Belcher (Labour) 186, Karen Dodd (Heritage Party) 42, Hazel Fell-Rayner (Liberal Democrat) 623, Matthew Milligan (Conservative) 1627 - ELECTED, Zoe Nicholson (Green) 1580.

20.14: LIB DEM HOLD - Newhaven and Bishopstone. Elizabeth Boorman (Conservative) 1235, James MacCleary (Liberal Democrat) 1251 - ELECTED, Emily O’Brien (Green) 223, Elaine Sammarco (Labour) 219, Steven Saunders (Independent) 238.

20.10: We are waiting on official results for Chailey, Newhaven & Bishopstone as well as Ringmer & Lewes Bridge.

19.54: LAB GAIN - Peacehaven. Ian Buchanan (Ukip) 51, Christopher Collier (Labour) 1363 - ELECTED, Lesley Orr (Green) 100, Katie Sanderson (Conservative) 1307, Adam Stratford (Heritage Party) 31.

GREEN GAIN - Lewes. David Charnock (Conservative) 542, Peter Hambly (Labour) 763, Wendy Maples (Green) 2030 -ELECTED, Catherine Wood (Liberal Democrat) 1345.

LIB DEM HOLD - Seaford South. Carolyn Lambert (Liberal Democrat) 1679 - ELECTED, James Meek (Green) 338, Luke Proudfoot (Conservative) 1303, Alun Tlusty-Sheen (Labour) 347.

19.37: CON HOLD - Seaford North. Samuel Adeniji (Conservative) 1808 - ELECTED,Nazish Adil (Liberal Democrat) 532, Ann Biddle (Labour) 209, Philip Boorman (Independent) 55, Peter Leeming (Ukip) 55, Gemma McFarlane (Green) 929.

19.31: LIB DEM HOLD - Ouse Valley West and Downs. Anthony Bradbury (Conservative) 1108, David Hallett (Labour) 209, Paul Keene (Green) 285, Sarah Osbourne (Liberal Democrat) 1671 - ELECTED.

19.20: And here are the first Lewes results and it’s a LABOUR GAIN. Christine Robinson is elected in Telscombe.

Simon Ackroyd (Liberal Democrat) 199, Christine Robinson (Labour) 1426 - ELECTED, Anthony Shuster (Green) 189, Andrew Smith (Conservative) 1354.

17.49: We’ve just been sent the turnout figures for the Lewes district divisions. Ranges from 34.49 per cent in Peacehaven to 55.76 per cent in Lewes.

17.14: CON HOLD Arlington, East Hoathly and Hellingly. Nick Bennett (Conservative) 1872 - ELECTED, Mark Everest (Reform UK) 116, Beverly Johnstone (Liberal Democrat) 345, Angie Smith (Labour) 316, Alison Wilson (Green) 690.

17.13: CON HOLD Wealden East. Bob Bowdler (Conservative) 2015 - ELECTED, Barry Simons (Labour) 292, Cornelie Usborne (Green) 1754.

17.06: IND DEM HOLD Willingdon and South Downs. Douglas Murray (Conservative) 1377, Hugh Parker (Liberal Democrat) 362, Stephen Shing (Independent) 2077 - ELECTED.

17.04: CON HOLD Hailsham New Town. Neil Cleaver (Liberal Democrat) 814, Gerard Fox (Conservative) 1282 - ELECTED, Laurence Keeley (Independent) 337, Christopher Morris (Labour) 261.

17.01: CON HOLD MAresfield and Buxted. Nigel Doggett (Labour) 314, Roy Galley (Conservative) 2360 - ELECTED, Elizabeth Riminton (Liberal Democrat) 438, Ian Tysh (Green) 670.

16.18: GREEN GAIN Forest Row and Groombridge. Simon Kirby (Conservative) 1676, Georgia Taylor (Green) 2325 - ELECTED

16.07: IND DEM HOLD Polegate and Watermill. Adrienne Hall (Green) 154, Olivia Honeyman (Liberal Democrat) 167, Paul Hunt (Labour) 231, Chris Primett (Conservative) 986, Daniel Shing (Independent) 1825 - ELECTED.

16.02: CON HOLD Wealden North East. Simon Cramond (Green) 461, Lucy Pop Buck (Lib Dem) 714, Bob Standley (Conservative) 1628 - ELECTED, James Walker (Labour) 436

16.01: CON HOLD Crowborough North and Jarvis Brook. Peter Bucklitsch (Independent) 551, Johanna Howell (Conservative) 1131 - ELECTED, Walter Partridge (Liberal Democrat) 1096, Colin Stocks (Green) 324, Norman Warren (Labour) 255.

15.52: LDEM GAIN FROM CON Hailsam Market has been taken by Lib Dems. Steve Murphy comfortably ahead of the Conservative candidate.

15.50: A CON HOLD in Wealden’s Pevensey and Stone Cross. Mark Fairweather (Liberal Democrat) 709, Tom Liddiard (Conservative) 1212 (ELECTED), Mike Pursglove (Ukip) 203and Robert Slater (Independent) 293.

15.40: CON HOLD Two more Conservative holds, Philip Lunn in Crowborough South and St Johns and Claire Dowling in Uckfield North.

15.10: CON HOLD The first results are in. Wealden Conservatives Chris Dowling (Uckfield South with Framfield) and Rupert Simmons (Heathfield and Mayfield) are both re-elected.

15.04: If any party wants a majority on the county council the number they are aiming for is 26 (out of 50). Last time the Conservatives took 30, so all they have to do to retain control at County Hall all they have to do is hold on to most of their seats.

14.52: East Sussex County Council’s website has a handy interactive map which will be updated with the results as they come in. It’s currently blank with no announcements yet.

14.40: Trevor Scott, Wealden’s chief executive, has tweeted: “Counting well underway for the #Wealden @EastSussexCC County divisions. First results will be announced shortly.”

12.49: Lewes is going to have a number of new county councillors whatever happens today. Not standing again are: Ruth O’Keeffe (Lewes), Jim Sheppard (Chailey), Darren Grover (Newhaven and Bishopstone), Nigel Enever (Peacehaven) and Philip Daniel (Ringmer and Lewes Bridge). Seaford North’s Phil Boorman resigned, creating a vacancy. A former Conservative councillor, he is standing this time as an independent.

Meanwhile in Wealden those stepping down are: Richard Stogdon (Crowborough North and Jarvis Brook), Sylvia Tidy (Crowborough South and St Johns), Francis Whetstone (Forest Row and Groombridge) and Bill Bentley (Wealden East). Bob Bowdler (Hailsham Market) is standing this time in Wealden East.