Liberal Democrats win seats on Lewes Town Council

The two Liberal Democrat candidates romped home when Lewes went to the polls in the Bridge Ward by-election on Thursday October 17.

Winning the two vacant seats on Lewes Town Council were Liz Allsobrook and John Lamb.

Labour candidates Lloyd Russell-Moyle and Louis Blair featured strongly, finishing ahead of the Green Party hopefuls.

Ten candidates contested the two seats, brought about by the resignations for personal reasons of Matt Kent and Petrina Kingham.

The full result was: Liz Allsobrook (Lib Dem) 408 votes; John Lamb (Lib Dem) 355; Lloyd Russell-Moyle (Labour) 247; Louis Blair (Labour) 231; Johnny Dennis (Green Party) 132; Sarah Neels (Green Party) 120; Donna Edmunds (UKIP) 113; Nick Robinson (Conservative) 106; Ian Wilson (UKIP) 105; Richard Turner (Conservative) 92.