West Sussex County Council election candidates for Horsham district revealed

The West Sussex County Council candidates standing for election in divisions across the Horsham district in May have been revealed today (Friday April 9).

Voters will head to the polls on Thursday May 6.
Voters will head to the polls on Thursday May 6.

Councillors stepping down are Morwen Millson (Lib Dem, Horsham Riverside), Lionel Barnard (Conservative, Henfield), Pat Arculus (Con, Pulborough), Peter Catchpole (Con, Holbrook), David Barling (Con, Bramber Castle) and Liz Kitchen (Con, St Leonards Forest).

Incumbent in Horsham East Andrew Baldwin is standing in Holbrook this time around.

Sign up to our daily SussexWorld Today newsletter

This means that even without any divisions changing hands there will be a large group of new councillors elected for the first time next month.

Polling day is Thursday May 6, the same as the Sussex Police and Crime Commissioner election.

There is also a Horsham District Council by-election for the ward of Trafalgar triggered by the death of Leonard Crosbie.

Candidates are Martin Boffey (Lib Dem), Aaron Courteney-Smith (Conservative) and Joanna Kavanagh (Labour).

The following candidates are standing for West Sussex County Council in the Horsham district (incumbents are marked in bold):

Billingshurst: Chris Geeson (Lib Dem), Christopher Henson (Labour), Amanda Jupp (Conservative) and Emma Rothwell (Green).

Bramber Castle: Simon Birnstingl (Labour), Mike Croker (Green), Nick Hopkinson (Lib Dem) and Paul Linehan (Conservative).

Broadbridge: Joanne Kavanagh (Labour), Christian Mitchell (Conservative), Catherine Ross (Green) and Belinda Walters (Lib Dem).

Henfield: Fiona Ayres (Labour), Celia Emmott (Green), David Epps (Lib Dem) and Sarah Payne (Conservative).

Holbrook: Andrew Baldwin (Conservative), Ray Chapman (Labour) and Ruth Fletcher (Lib Dem).

Horsham East: Ross Dye (Conservative), Gerard Kavanagh (Labour), Ferial Mactavish (Green) and Jay Mercer (Lib Dem).

Horsham Hurst: Nigel Dennis (Lib Dem), Carol Hayton (Labour) and David Thompson (Conservative).

Horsham Riverside: Jim Duggan (Peace Party), David Hide (Labour), Tony Hogben (Conservative) and John Milne (Lib Dem).

Pulborough: Alex Beveridge (Lib Dem), Jon Campbell (Green), Nick Dalton (Labour), Jo Hughes (For Britain Movement) and Charlotte Kenyon (Conservative).

Southwater and Nuthurst: Nick Grant (Lib Dem), Nigel Jupp (Conservative), Kevin O’Sullivan (Labour) and Morag Warrack (Green).

St Leonards Forest: Sara Loewenthal (Labour), Katie Nagel (Conservative) and Sam Raby (Lib Dem).

Storrington: Claudia Fisher (Green), Paul Marshall (Conservative), Ian Miles (Lib Dem) and James Ross (Labour).

To apply for a postal vote visit www.horsham.gov.uk/council-democracy-and-elections/elections/ways-to-vote/vote-by-post