Results of Newhaven Community Awards are announced

Winners group shot Newhaven Community Awards
Winners group shot Newhaven Community Awards

THE FIRST ever Newhaven Community Awards were held on Wednesday May 2 by young mayor Charlotte Crookstone and mayor Steve Saunders.

The awards, which were held at the Hillcrest Centre, were designed to recognise members of the community for their achievements, ranging from unsung heroes to young people of courage.

After the awards, came the Newhaven Town Meeting where people heard about the work of the town council during the past year.

Newhaven Mayor Steve Saunders said: “It was great to see so many people at our Town Meeting and to be able to show respect for so many unsung heroes and community groups from Newhaven.

“It was wonderful to see the young mayor, Charlotte Crookstone, giving out the Community Awards. She is so enthusiastic and a great ambassador for the young people of the town.”

Young mayor Charlotte Crookstone added: “It was a great honour to present the awards.

“I was a bit nervous to start with, but I really enjoyed the evening and meeting both young people and older people who have achieved such great things in Newhaven.

“Lots of people came to see the awards being presented and it was a lovely evening.”

Cllr Saunders, who will be stepping down as mayor next week, but will continue to work hard as a district and town councillor, thanked everyone for their support during his mayoral year.

He and Sharon presented all his chosen charities, including Coastwatch, VISTA and Newhaven Football Club Youth Section with a cheque for £1,000.

And the results were: Unsung Hero 2012, Pam Perry, sponsored by Newhaven Town Council; Achiever 2012, Jennifer Byrne, sponsored by Newhaven Enterprise Centre; Young Person of Courage 2012, Shannon Pulford, sponsored by Wave Leisure and Volunteer 2012, Margaret Loveless, sponsored by Newhaven Town Council.

Other winners were Young Sportsperson 2012, Rhys Smith, sponsored by Pinnacle Publishing Ltd; Young Carer 2012, Charlotte Cole, sponsored by Newhaven McDonalds and Newhaven Community Award 2012, Emma Wileman, sponsored by Pinnacle Publishing Ltd.