Seahaven Business Awards were the best ever

Winners at the Seahaven Business Awards 2013
Winners at the Seahaven Business Awards 2013

A record number of nominations were submitted for Seahaven Business Awards this year, with more than 70 entries.

Winner of Business of the Year was Wave Leisure for its Shakespeare Hall project where it turned the dilapidated building into a community facility.

A gala evening was held at Woody’s Bar and Grill in Peacehaven on Friday May 10, where guests enjoyed close up magic from Chris Singh.

Newhaven Chamber of Commerce president Annie Lorys said: “This has been a fantastic and really fun event.

“We had a record number of nominations this year – the standard was exceptionally high and the judges had a very tough job when it came to selecting the winners.”

The President’s Lifetime Achievement Award, introduced this year, was won by sisters Margaret and Jean Cantell from Studio Tempo.

Jean opened her dance studio in 1953 and this year celebrates 60 years in Newhaven High Street.

Annie said: “In the last 60 years they have taught hundreds, if not thousands, of people to dance and many of their students have gone on to become professional dancers and teachers.

“Their business has enriched the lives of several generations in the Seahaven area and continues to do so today.”

Judges included MP Norman Baker, Newhaven mayor Graham Amy and Annie Lorys.

Alasdair Fortune and Mike Shorer both scooped three prizes each.

The winners were: Business of the Year (sponsored by Swindells Chartered Accountants): Ist, Wave Leisure; 2nd, Badger Inks and 3rd Mike Shorer Fine Jewellery.

Business Personality of the Year (sponsored by the Sussex Sign Company): 1st, Mike Shorer of Mike Shorer Fine Jewellery: 2nd, Alan Novis of Prestige Promotional Products and 3rd, Peter Crowley of Wave Leisure

Best Customer Service (sponsored by Wave Leisure): 1st, Autowise; 2nd, Badger Inks and 3rd, Payline.

Best Retailer of the Year (sponsored by Mike Shorer Fine Jewellery): 1st, Mike Shorer of Mike Shorer Fine Jewellery; 2nd, Dee’s Newsagents; Best Environmental Business (sponsored by Co-op Funeral Care): 1st, Badger Inks; 2nd, Tennyson Suite Health & Safety Consultants and 3rd, Cleankill Environmental Services.

The President’s Lifetime Achievement Award (sponsored by Newhaven Enterprise Centre): 1st, Jean and Margaret Cantell from Studio Tempo; 2nd, Peter Crowley from Wave Leisure and 3rd, Paul Boswell from Meeching Estate Agents.