Town’s deputy Mayor defects to UKIP from Tories

Cllr Terry Goodman, deputy mayor of Seaford.
Cllr Terry Goodman, deputy mayor of Seaford.

The deputy mayor at Seaford Town Council has announced he has defected from the Conservatives to the UK Independence Party.

It comes just three years after councillor Terry Goodman defected from the Liberal Democrats to the Tories.

On Monday, cllr Goodman said his defection to UKIP was ‘a difficult and personal decision’ caused in part by poor decision making and judgement by the Tory-led council over several matters about which he felt ‘out of place’.

He said he also felt there was an expectation and sometimes pressure to vote with the majority party and felt this was not in the best interests of the town.

He said with UKIP, he feels he will be more able to vote as he wishes and not according to the will of the Party or its leaders.

“As a UKIP councillor, my opinions will be of greater value to the town,” said cllr Goodman.

“Indeed, since election of the first UKIP councillor in 2012 and others subsequently, I have been impressed by their diverse skills and views which they are not reticent to express”.

Cllr Goodman will continue representing Seaford as a town councillor and, as deputy mayor, will continue to support a range of charities.

He becomes the fifth UKIP councillor on Seaford Town Council and intends standing again at the local election in May 2015.

In August 2011, cllr Goodman defected from the Liberal Democrats, after being suspended, to the Conservatives.

He was suspended by the Liberal Democrats for supporting the decision of another councillor arrested on drink driving charges not to stand down.

When the Express contacted the Lewes Conservative Party, it declined to comment on cllr Goodman’s defection.

There are now nine Conservative councillors on Seaford Town Council.

There are also three Liberal Democrats and three independent councillors on the council.

Cllr Goodman is the only UKIP councillor outside of Seaford East, which the other four UKIP councillors represent.