Voting for Sussex Police Commissioner to open on Thursday November 15

PEOPLE IN Sussex have the chance to vote for their Police and Crime Commissioner at centres throughout the county on Thursday, November 15.

Polling stations will be open from 7am-10pm on election day.

Voters will be able to select a first and second choice for the post.

If a candidate fails to get more than 50 per cent of the first preference votes polled, the second preference votes will be used to decide which of the two highest should be elected.

The candidates are Katy Elizabeth Bourne (Conservative Party;) Ian Chisnall (Independent;) Godfrey Daniel (Labour Party;) David Rogers (Liberal Democrat Party) and Tony Armstrong (UKIP.)

Full details and information about what the candidates are standing for can be found on

The new role came about when the Coalition Government passed the Police Reform and Social Responsibility Act in September last year.

This included legislation which sees Police Authorities throughout the country replaced with directly elected Police and Crime Commissioners.

The Act says that on November 15 people will vote for one person in their police force area to represent them for policing in the next four years.

This will shift power from 17 members of current Police Authorities to one person who will represent the county.

This individual will be responsible for overseeing the Chief Constable, and holding the Police Force to account.

The aim of the Government was to improve the democratic accountability of the police service to the public by enabling them to vote for a PCC.

To find out where your nearest polling station is visit Lewes District Council’s website or Wealden District Council’s website.

Sussex Police Authority has also launched a website which explains the role of the Police and Crime Commissioner, as well as the Police and Crime Panel, which will hold the commissioner to account.