Young musical talent recognised by Seaford Rotary Club

Soloist winner Matt Flood with Cllr Terry Goodman
Soloist winner Matt Flood with Cllr Terry Goodman

More than 20 young musicians went along to Seaford Head School to take part in the Rotary Club of Seaford’s Annual Young Musician of the Year competition.

The competition aims to give youngsters aged between 11 and 17 the experience of appearing in front of an audience and the chance to showcase their musical talent.

Organisers said the audience was treated to an evening of outstanding instrumental and vocal performances.

Judges Andrew Daniels, Margaret Darwall Smith and Pat White decided the top three soloists and the top ensemble, who all received prizes.

This year’s soloist winner, who was also presented with the Colin Seymour Memorial Shield, was Matt Flood (drums) and the second and third prizes went to Alfie Preece (piano) and Monique Loosemore (vocalist). The ensemble award went to Dream, who were Helena White (piano), George Maddison (guitar) and Lily Tidey (vocals).

There was also an additional encouragement award which was won by Archie Blaber (trumpet) and all the competitors received commemorative certificates. The certificates and prizes were presented by Cllr Terry Goodman, Deputy Mayor of Seaford and Helen Key, the acting headteacher of Seaford Head School.

The Rotary Club thanked all involved in the awards.