Young people’s success celebrated at awards

A celebration of the achievements of young people in Seaford was staged by the town council.

It announced the results of the Young Mayor’s Awards this week, which rewarded the achievements of young people.

The ceremony also officially named Seaford’s new young mayor Georgia Coyler, who takes over from outgoing young mayor Amy Gough.

Leader of Seaford Town Council Ian White said: “It has been a real privilege to be able to help recognise the incredible talent and courage again shown by the young people of Seaford.

“Each year that we have held the awards I have been amazed by the achievements of those nominated.”

There were 14 winners in the awards scheme, who were recognised for their various achievements and contributions to their local communities.

The winners were: Mason Creese, Issac Wiley, Oliver Woolmer, Axel McMullan, Phil McMullan, Shana Edwards, Brandan Witham, Daisy Franks, Freddie Ruckes-Harris, Laura Bennett, Jonathan Atkinson, Daniel Coyle, Angus Whitehead and Matthew Batchelor.

A spokesperson for Seaford Town Council said: “The Young Mayor’s Awards are a yearly ceremony to recognise and celebrate the positive contribution young people make to Seaford.

“This event also provides the opportunity for the current young mayor to hand over duties to the next young mayor.

“Amy Gough who was the current Young Mayor did a fantastic job in hosting the evening.”

A talk was given by Olympic torch bearer Dan Crowly, who was nominated for the role because of his outstanding contribution to society, when he stopped to help a car crash victim.

A flute solo was performed by Hambel Goodchild, winner of Seaford Young Musician of the Year 2013.

Candidates for the new deputy mayor were Jess Batchelor, Remy Browning, Libby Fuminger and Millie Hemsely.

The winner was Millie Hemsley.

The evening, held on Wednesday April 10 at Seaford Baptist Church, in Belgrave Road, concluded with young mayor Amy Gough handing over her chains to the deputy mayor and now new Young Mayor Georgia Coyler.