Baker back to top form

Lewes Wanderers Cycling Club held the second of their annual series of time trials on Sunday. The circuit of Danehill has been run every year since 1952 and the hilly 18 miles offered the riders a real challenge in the dampish conditions.

Mark Winton was a non-starter due to a cold but attended as a spectator. Andy Cox and Jeremy Meades had reason to be grateful to Mark's presence as he lent both riders new front wheels before the start.

Cox went on to finish third in 50 minutes 30 seconds, nine seconds behind second-placed man Chris Hill (50.21). Hill, a seasoned road man riding his road bike rather than a time trial specific machine, has already produced some good rides in the early 2006 season trials.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Peter Baker made his usual slow start to the season, conducted on his heavy training bike, but he bounced back to form here with a classy winning ride in 48.59.

Events organiser Ian Landless finished fifth overall and easily win the vets standard award, reinforcing his current position as top Wanderer on standard.

Leigh Simpson (56.23) won the handicap award while Debbie Evers (1:02.14) was top female rider ahead of Anne Locke (1:04.34).

Alan Lloyd's good ride (55.34) earned him some more points in the new LWCC Middlemarkers competition. Alan now holds a comfortable lead, but with five events still to go it is far from over.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Other times: Peter Barling (52.22), Jeremy Meades (53.53), Hugh Procter (54.03), Bob Coleman (54.17), Chris Hough (57.45), Dave Beale (1:00.11) and Richard Pearson (1:05.23) and Simon Yates (1:05.28).

Related topics: