Captain Pooley leads from the front as Hellingly claim Oakshott Cup title number 14

editorial image
Share this article

Zayne Bux and James Pooley batted Hellingly to victory over Buxted Park in the 2013 Oakshott Cup final.

The Oakshott Cup is one of the oldest (if not the oldest) 20 over competitions of its kind in the world. It was first contested in 1921, and has been won by many clubs while eluding many others. For example, Buxted Park were aiming for their first win in the competition while Hellingly were competing for their 14th trophy.

Winning the toss, Buxted Park elected to bat first but lost two early wickets taken by Adam Devlin and Will Hook.

Rob Raymond came in and smashed 53 from 35 balls, and John Anderson hit 10 from five balls as Buxted began to head for a sizable total.

Five tight overs from Bob Pye brought the run rate down as opener Lloyd Burgess carried his bat throughout the innings to hit 39 from 53 balls.

The 20 overs saw Buxted Park finish on 137-5. Bux was top wicket taker with 2-14.

The reply for Hellingly got off to an exciting start with Tom Rothero smashing an enormous six before being caught out the next ball.

Captain James Pooley joined Bux and the pair saw off the opening bowlers as they kept just above the run rate.

With nine wickets in hand, the final 10 overs saw Bux and Pooley smash the remaining runs as Bux ended with an unbeaten run-a-ball 64 and Pooley also hit 64 – in 39 balls that included four fours and an incredible five sixes

As Hellingly comfortably won with 10 balls to spare. Pooley was the clear man of the match and, as captain, thoroughly deserved to lift the trophy for Hellingly for that 14th time. A barbecue followed the game put on by hosts of the final, Herstmonceux, before celebrations got truly underway at Hellingly.

The two Hellingly wickets were claimed by Craig Olive and Colin Coddington. The umpires in the final were Alan Burdon and Chris Procter and Richard Ashby was scorer.