Common in two-horse race for title

THE battle for the Sussex Memorials East Sussex Football League title is now a two-horse race after Little Common knocked Hollington United out of the running in the big Premier Division match at Gibbons Field.

Goals from Adrian Hayes and former Hastings United player Russell Eldridge dashed Hollington's hopes of retaining the title, with their only consolation in a 2-1 defeat coming from Sean Hankinson.

The Commoners are now just four points behind Rock-a-Nore with two matches in hand on the leaders who have already completed their programme.

Hollington United II made sure it wasn't all misery for the Hastings club with a shock 4-3 win over Division One leaders Eastbourne Fishermen. Two goals apiece from Richard Saunders and Phil Till did the trick against rivals who responded through Ashley Weddle (2) and Andy Coleman.

Darren Nicol grabbed both goals for Ticehurst as they won 2-1 at JC Tackleway who hit back through a lone Andy Chambers strike.

Eastbourne WMC had Joe Cowcher and Ben Davis on target as they won 2-1 at Wadhurst United II whose scorer was Adam Piper. A Gary Bryant hat-trick plus one from Tony Russell gave Hooe Sports a 4-2 victory over Northiam for whom Kenny Deal and Richard Smith scored.

In Division Two, goals from Dave Becker and Devin Farley were cancelled out by Christian Kipps and John Andrews as Ninfield United and Rye & Iden United III drew 2-2. Top scorers of the day were Sedlescombe as Simon Mitchell (5), Peter Heraty (4), Darren Oliver and Will Fowers ran riot in an 11-2 drubbing of nine-man Firehills Seniors whose goals came from Dave Pugh and John Ellis.

Old Hastonians closed the gap at the top of Division Three as Geoff Jasinski (2) and Nigel Demeza scored in their 3-0 victory over Hillcrest. A single Loukas Bradbury strike gave Hastings Rangers the points against Burfield Tyres.

Pebsham Sibex moved off the bottom of the table after goals from Dave Remmer and Gavin Bourne secured a 2-0 victory over Herstmonceux. Joe White scored twice for JC Tackleway II but Little Common II ran out 5-2 victors with goals from Conrad Sparks (3), Paul Lakin and Dan Proudfoot.