Bexhill ready to take on champs

Bexhill Cricket Club captain Johnathan Haffenden is in positive mood ahead of a meeting with the reigning Sussex Premier League champions.

Saturday, 13th June 2015, 8:00 am
Bexhill wicketkeeper Cameron Burgon gathers the ball during last weekend's defeat at home to Preston Nomads. Picture by Stephen Curtis (SUS-150706-172529002)

Bexhill will travel to Roffey today (Saturday) keen for a positive response to last weekend’s heavy defeat at home to new leaders Preston Nomads.

Haffenden said: “I don’t see why we wouldn’t go there and think that we can get a result. Seeing the results, anyone can beat anyone at the moment. I think we’ve just got to be positive again on Saturday.

“All the boys believe in their own ability, which is great, so it’s not hard to motivate them to want to win, especially when you’ve got people like Guesty (Callum Guest) who hates losing.”

Roffey are in second place this term having won four of their first five games, while Bexhill are eighth with two wins and three losses from their five.

“They’ve not got any real superstars, but they look like a bunch of mates who enjoy playing together and who do anything for each other,” added Haffenden.

“We’ve had one blip, but we’ll move on and I’m pretty confident we can put a score on the board if we get stuck in.”

Guest and fellow spinner Josh Beeslee are set to return in place of Liam Bryant and Jamie Wicks.


Sussex Cricket League, 1st XI Premier Division (12.30): Roffey v Bexhill.

1st XI Division 2 (1): Ifield v Hastings Priory; St James’s Montefiore v Crowhurst Park.

1st XI Division 4 (1): Rye v Southwater.

2nd XI Division 1 (1): Bexhill v Roffey; Hastings Priory v Cuckfield.

2nd XI Division 3 (East) (1): Crowhurst Park v Crawley Eagles; Rottingdean v Rye.

East Sussex Cricket League (1.30), Division 1: Battle v Plumpton & East Chiltington.

Division 2: Hailsham v Robertsbridge; Iden v Forest Row.

Division 3: Willingdon v Little Common Ramblers.

Division 4: Ditchling II v Bexhill III.

Division 5: Seaford II v Pett.

Division 6: Hastings Priory III v Ringmer II; Newhaven II v Udimore; Robertsbridge II v Nutley.

Division 7: Bexhill IV v St Peters III; Lewes Priory II v Battle II; Rottingdean III v Iden II.

Division 8: Forest Row II v Burwash Weald; Little Common Ramblers II v Hellingly III.

Division 9: Polegate & Stone Cross II v Sidley.

Division 10: Glynde & Beddingham III v Bexhill V; Tunbridge Wells Borderers II v Robertsbridge III; Westfield v Hailsham III.

Division 11: Pett II v Heathfield Park III; Seaford IV v Rye III.

Division 12: Crowhurst Park IV v Lewes St Michaels III; Hailsham IV v Hastings Priory IV.


Davidstow Village Cup, 4th round (1): Rottingdean v Crowhurst Park.

Don’t miss out on all the latest breaking news where you live.

Here are four ways you can be sure you’ll be amongst the first to know what’s going on.

1 Make this website your homepage

2 Like our Facebook page at

3 Follow us on Twitter @SportSussex

4 Register with us by clicking on ‘sign in’ (top right corner). You can then receive our daily newsletter AND add your point of view to stories that you read here.

And do share with your family and friends - so they don’t miss out!