SUSSEX CRICKET LEAGUE ROUND-UP: Wins for Cuckfield, East Grinstead, Roffey and Horsham

Cuckfield are the early Premier Division leaders after they gained their third successive victory when they beat beat Preston Nomads by 34 runs.

Sussex Cricket League. Steyning CC v Burgess Hill.
Action from the match. Pictured  is  Burgess Hill batsman  Dan Yates. 

Picture: Liz Pearce 09-05-15
LP1501730 SUS-150905-213717008
Sussex Cricket League. Steyning CC v Burgess Hill. Action from the match. Pictured is Burgess Hill batsman Dan Yates. Picture: Liz Pearce 09-05-15 LP1501730 SUS-150905-213717008

Sussex professional Steffan Piolet opened their innings and topscored with 65 off 93 balls which included two sixes.

Harry Clark was unbeaten on 41 as they set a target of 195 all out. Stuart Faith took 4-44 and veteran opening bowler Carl Simon scooped 3-54 for Nomads.

Sign up to our daily SussexWorld Today newsletter

Nick Patterson took 4-43 and Josh Hayward collected 3-40 as Cuckfield dismissed Nomads for 161. Faith was unbeaten at the end on 44.

East Grinstead gained their second successive win when they beat Middleton by seven wickets.

Craig Fowle took 4-44 and Ian Sturmer bagged 3-40 as Grinstead dismissed their opponents for 196.

Middleton’s skipper Sean Heather topscored in their innings with 60.

Grinstead’s Ollie Graham made 65 and shared in an oppening partnership of 91 with Fynn Hudson-Prentice (46) as they made 198 in 42.4 overs for the loss of three wickets.

Reigning champions Roffey gained their first win of the season when they beat Brighton & Hove by seven wickets.

Mike Norris scored 72 in 97 balls for Roffey and shared in a third-wicket partnership of 103 with Rohit Jagota who was unbeaten 61 when he hit the winning runs for the loss of three wickets in 41.2 overs.

Earlier, Dan Smith took 3-57 and Jagota 2-36 as Roffey restricted Brighton to 180-9 for whom Jordan Rollings struck 70. Roffey took 28 points, Brighton 7.

Ben Shoare stayed in for the entire innings to craft an unbeaten 84 to set Horsham up for their first win of the season.

They beat Bexhill by five wickets after winning the toss and putting the visitors into bat.

Bexhill set a target of 225-6 and were limited by good work from Horsham’s opening bowler Nathan Roberts who took 3-45.

Jonathan Haffenden was not out 49 and Dean Crawford made 48 not out for Bexhill.

Tom Johnson made 51 for Horsham who reached their target in 47.5 overs for the loss of five wickets.

In Division 2 there were wins for St James’s Montefiore, Lindfield, Ifield, Three Bridges and Worthing.

Sam Cooper blasted 60 in 59 balls and shared in an opening stand of 100 with Michael Murray (50) to pave the way for St James’s to reach 152-2 off only 29 overs to win by eight wickets.

In their innings, Findon were dismissed for 149 with St James’s bowlers Jordan Shaw, Murray, George Taylor and Charles Davies taking two wickets each.

Lindfield beat Crowhurst Park by 124 runs thanks to Max O’Dowd’s tremendous display of aggressive batting to hit 143 off just 124 balls.

Former Roffey player Simon Shivnarain added 50 in a total of 248-5 declared while Hayden James saw off the Park reply with a fine bowling display to take 5-26.

Nabid Rahman produced a superb bowling display, taking 5-19 for Pagham but still ended up on the losing side at home to Ifield.

In a low scoring game, Ifield captain Jack Groves won the toss and elected to bat.

Groves scored 30 as did Jigar Parekh (30) after Ifield had got off to a solid start from opening batsman Graeme Dean, who made 20.

Ifield were all out for 143 but managed to win when spinner Parekh took 4-39 and combined with Indian overseas player Guru Kedarnath who impressed with 3-14.

They bowled out Pagham for 111 to win by 32 runs.

A fine century by Brad Gayler and good bowling by South African overseas player Andrew Smith.

Gayler hit 103 and James Chadburn struck 45 to pave the way for a total of 219-8.

In reply, Hastings and St Leonards were skittled out for just 57 as Smith took 4-15 off just eight overs.

Michael Rose took 2-6 and Ollie Blandford 2-16 in a tight bowling display as Bridges won by a massive 162 runs.

Worthing gained a ten-wicket victory against Ansty after Martyn Swift took 3-12.

Ansty were dismissed for 57 off 25.5 overs before Worthing’s opening batsmen Matt Green (41 not out) and Josh Wood (13 not out) hit the required runs in just 16.1 overs.