Cup final glory for Seaford Town as they upset the favourites in the final

No Caption ABCDE
No Caption ABCDE

Seaford Town won the Division Two Challenge Cup in fine style with superb victory 2-0 over the favourites, Littlehampton Town, in the final at Peacehaven FC on Good Friday morning.

League leaders Littlehampton were firm favourites to take their first trophy of the season. But they came up against a strong Seaford team that was not prepared to lie down and accept defeat against the team top of the table and tipped for promotion to division one at the end of the season.

Seaford’s players followed manager Tobi Hutchinson’s orders to the letter, not allowing Littlehampton’s formidable attackers a chance to impose themselves on the game.

And two late goal sealed the win and a glorious cup victory for Seaford.

Town took the lead in the 80th minute when a Tom Porter free kick was headed on by Drew Greenall to Ben Dartnall, who fired the ball past the helpless keeper, Andy McCarthy.

And 10 minutes later it was all over. A great crossfield pass from Dartnall found substitute Ollie Davies on the right. He laid the ball off for Greenall whose shot could only be parried by McCarthy, leaving Davies with a simple tap-in to send the Seaford supporters into ecstacy.

After the game Seaford chairman, Bob Thomsett said “It was a tremendous all-round performance, with a fantastic 2-0 win against, arguably the best team in the Division.

“I am really proud of the players who all gave 110 per cent and what a great start for our new manager, Tobi Hutchinson.

“I must also make a special mention for our previous manager, Mick Richards who brought all these players to the club, and I’m sure he enjoyed the result as much as any of us.”

It’s back to league action for Seaford on Monday morning as they take on local rivals Newhaven, who themselves are heavily involved in the battle at the top of the table, being as they are level on points with Littlehampton at the top of the table with two more games played.

Team: Levett, Barnett, Whittingham, Mills, Porter, Mikolay, Burton (Fitzpatrick), B Dartnall, Greenall, S Dartnall (Daubeney), Thompson (Davies).