Who are the movers and shakers as the East Sussex Football League line-up is confirmed?

The East Sussex Football League has announced its composition of divisions for the 2020-21 season.
South Coast Athletico and Victoria Baptists - who have both moved up a divisionSouth Coast Athletico and Victoria Baptists - who have both moved up a division
South Coast Athletico and Victoria Baptists - who have both moved up a division

The line-up was agreed during the league’s annual general meeting last Monday and once again there are six divisions.

The Premier Division, Division One, Division Two and Division Four all contain 10 teams, Division Three is made up of nine sides and there are eight in Division Five.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

With last season abandoned following the coronavirus outbreak, there was no promotion or relegation per se.

Clubs could, however, request to move up a division and several have done just that - by virtue of other teams withdrawing or offering to drop down a level.

Rock-a-Nore have gone up to the Premier Division, filling the void left by Sedlescombe Rangers’ switch to the Mid-Sussex League.

The withdrawals of Hollington United II and Old Hastonians, plus Herstmonceux dropping down to Division Two, have opened the door for Sedlescombe II, South Coast Athletico, Victoria Baptists and Wittersham to move up to Division One.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Little Common II and Northiam 75 II have advanced to Division Two, AFC Hollington and Old Town Lions have climbed into Division Three, while Hooe - who, like AFC Hollington, won all of their league games last term - are up into Division Four.

The league welcomes new teams Sidley United II, Peche Hill Select II and Hampden Park u23s into Division One, Two and Five respectively.

The action is scheduled to begin on Saturday, September 5, provided there are no more setbacks regarding lockdown restrictions being reintroduced. September 5 is the date the league would normally have been looking to start.

East Sussex Football League composition 2020/21 - Premier Division: Battle Town, Bexhill Town, Crowhurst, Hawkhurst United, Northiam 75, Punnetts Town, Robertsbridge United, Rock-a-Nore, St Leonards Social, Wadhurst United.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Division 1: Battle Town II, Bexhill AAC, JC Tackleway, Peche Hill Select, Rye Town, Sedlescombe Rangers II, Sidley United II, South Coast Athletico, Victoria Baptists, Wittersham.

Division 2: Bexhill Rovers, Catsfield, Herstmonceux, Little Common II, Mountfield United, Northiam 75 II, Peche Hill Select II, SC Pass & Move, St Leonards Social II, Westfield II.

Division 3: AFC Hollington, Bexhill AAC II, Hampden Park, Hastings United Youth, Hawkhurst United II, JC Tackleway II, Old Town Lions, Robertsbridge United II, Sandhurst.

Division 4: Battle Town III, Hooe, Icklesham Casuals, Magham Down, Orington, Parkfield, Sedlescombe Rangers development, Sovereign Saints II, Welcroft Park Rangers, West Hill United.

Division 5: AFC Hollington II, Hampden Park u23s, Hastings Comets, Herstmonceux II, Ticehurst, Wadhurst United II, Welcroft Park Rangers II, West Hill United II.