Golf: Delight for Dennis equates to happiness for hospice

One of the Selsey Golf Club veterans' section's most important trophies has been awarded.

The presentation to this year’s winner of the St Wilfrid’s Hospice Cup was made by Dr Sandra Sedgwick, vice-president of the hospice and a past trustee.

The winner was Dennis Sanderson, who plays off 14, with 37 Stableford points ahead of Ray DeBuse (handicap 17) with 35.

Sign up to our daily SussexWorld Today newsletter

Third were four players each with 32 points – Dave Winter, John Williamson, Vic Wade and Reg Ewens.

The Hospice Cup was first played in 1990 and the winner then was Arthur Powis, a well-respected past member of Selsey GC and one of the founder members of the veterans’ section. Arthur’s daughter Eddie Williamson is this year’s ladies’ captain.

St Wilfrid’s is the main charity supported by the vets and a cheque for £250 was presented to Dr Sedgwick in recognition of the work carried out by the hospice.


The team competing in the County Exclusive Trophy continued their good form by winning the home game against Pycombe 2½-1½. Mick Martin and Rob Redmond halved, John Lampard and Norman Lee lost two down, Den Burgess and Chris Jenkinson won five up and Kevin Holton and Chris Johnson won six up.

Having won their first-round match in the County Cyril Blake Cup, Bognor drew a home fixture against The Nevill. With the score at 2-2 after four matches, Jim Catt and Don McLeod went on to achieve the win for Bognor on the first extra hole.

Stuart Bell and David Burden lost, Derek Dady and Simon Watts halved as did Ron Stevens and Gary Steventon. Bognor veterans have won nine matches, winning each of their seven home games and two of their four away.

They won at The Dyke 4½-3½ – a great result against strong opposition on what was a new course to several of the Bognor team.

Scores: R Selway & J Owen won 2 up, D Turner & T Wells lost 4&3, R Braham & B Bennett lost 1 down, C Millett & J Woodhead won 4&3, R Hedge & P Collins won 4&3, M Oates & V Ward halved, R Wilson & M Wadley won 3&2, D Burke & A Fitzgerald lost 4&3.

The veterans won at home to Rowlands Castle 6½-1½. Best win of the day was 7&6 by Barry Baylis & Peter Lott.

Scores: R Selway & R Stevens won 5&4, D Turner & A Fitzgerald won 5&3, G Steventon & D Burke won 3&1, H Diaper & B Green halved, C Millett & J Cookson won 2 up, A Bence & P Purnell lost 4&3, T Wells & D Hollis won 4&3.

The ladies competed for the Langmead Trophy, a 36-hole medal competition. In poor conditions, some managed good scores.

Results: 1 Jane Russell 150 nett, 2 Heather Tidy 151, 3 Penny Entecott 155. Best AM score:

Sue Doughty 75, best PM score: June Salt 75.

In soggy conditions, a team of six Bognor ladies played Chichester in the second round of the Morrice Foursomes and beat them 2-1.

Results: Janet Carter & June Salt beat Sang Porter & Caroline Hawkes 4&3, Wendy Johnson & Caroline Pilbeam beat Kathy Donohoe & Rachel Greenland 5&4, Bridget Samuels & Gill Harries were three up but conceded because of the weather.


For the Ted Norman Trophy, decent weather attracted 76 golfers for the 18-hole medal.

Results: 1 Alec Stoner nett 64, 2 Roger Murphy 67 ocb, 3 Howard Kasey 67.

Cowdray Park Seniors played their second-ever home fixture against Hill Barn, Worthing.

Last year the home side just edged the verdict 4½-3½, and this year was a repeat of that score.

These close encounters are becoming of a feature of Cowdray seniors’ matches this year.

Match manager Tony Pike and partner David Wickham won the first match 3&2, quickly followed by a win for two former seniors’ captains, Peter Burton and Wally Mitchell, who won a closely-contested tie 2&1.

Two more wins followed – a sensational result from Derek Smith and Mike Pratt, who won by 8&6, and a 2&1 victory from John Smith and Barry Overington.

A half gave the home side an unassailable lead, just as well as the visitors won all three matches teeing off on the 17th to give the scoreboard a more balanced look.

The return fixture is scheduled at Hill Barn on August 8.

Results (Cowdray names first): Tony Pike & David Wickham beat Ron Simcock & John Clark 3&2; Peter Burton & Wally Mitchell beat Rod Baker & Martin Goble 2&1; Derek Smith & Mike Pratt beat Mick Latimer & John Connor 8&6; John Smith & Barry Overington beat Jack Boniface & Owen Whynot 2&1; Roger Poat & John Lee halved with David Parr & Alan Peters; Alan Godfree & Roy Penrose lost to Brian Male & Roger Blowers 3&2; Keith Chapman & Mike Holden lost to John Hughes & Pete Clements 1 dn; Peter Laws & David Imlach lost to Brian Hill & John Steele 2&1.

Conditions were almost perfect for Cowdray Park seniors’ monthly Stableford, with the course in superb condition.

Division-one and overall winner with 39 points was Paul Owen (pictured) ahead of Peter Laws (37), reversing the placings in February’s Stableford.

Division-two winner with 38 points and second overall was Tony Castley, continuing his resurgence in form. Second was Bill Brownlee (37), with both earning places in the end-of-season seniors’ championship.

The captain’s charity, the Mary How Trust, benefitted by £177.

Cowdray Park visited the Mid-Sussex course for the second round of the Cyril Blake Trophy. They came out winners after a close tussle, having to go to the second play-off hole before clinching victory, through Chris Dormer and Mick Fillary. In round three Cowdray Park will host Worthing.

Results: Chris Dormer & Mick Fillary won 6&4; Dave Hirons & Allen Sibley lost 5&3; John Doran & Phil Cummins lost 2&1; Harvey Terry & David Heard won 4&2.

Cowdray Park Ladies held their spring invitation.

Results: Nearest the pin 11th - guest: Sue Vaughan (Chiddingfold); member: Wendy Street; Best front nine: Beryl Bishop, Mo Palmer (Cranleigh) 31; Best back nine: Mandy Lucking, Sue Vaughan (Chiddingfold) 28; 3rd prize: Lil Cummins, Sang Porter (Chichester) 56; 2nd: Debbie Cheasley, Kathy Donohoe (Chichester) 63; 1st: Stephanie Bevis, Becky Mabbutt (Slinfold) 64.

A raffle raised £134 for charity.


Avisford Park seniors had an excellent start to the Countywide Blake Cup when they won 4-0 at home to Waterhall. The winning team was John Miller (captain), Gerry Tarrant, David Feist, Norman Turner, Barry Goble, Jimmy Blyth, Bob Boulter and Chris Machin.

Another seniors’ team won 5-1 at home to Rustington.