Hailsham win InterSport of Lewes Trophy while Ringmer clean up the Plate

Hailsham lift the InterSport of Lewes Trophy
Hailsham lift the InterSport of Lewes Trophy

Hailsham won the InterSport of Lewes Trophy yesterday (Saturday) when they beat Mayfield by two wickets in the final played at the Wellbrook Ground.

Hailsham overcame their opponents’ home ground advantage to secure what Director of Cricket Rob Wilkinson hailed as the “biggest achievement in the recent history of the club”.

Hailsham won the toss and elected to bowl first, and figures of 4-25 from Aaron Norwood – backed up by two wicket hauls for Bok Rahman and James McDonald – saw the hosts bowled out for 199 in 39 overs.

For Mayfield Rob Sharma scored 55.

In reply Hailsham reached the target in 39.5 overs for the loss of eight wicket, with Wilkinson rising to the occasion to hit a magnificent 83 from 105 balls from the top of the order.

Hailsham captain Dean Noakes said “I am immensely proud of the whole team today and for the whole season.

“We stepped up today against a very good Mayfield team and showed that anything is possible.”

Meanwhile, in the Plate final played at Robertsbridge CC, Ringmer beat Seaford by seven wickets.

Seaford won the toss and decided to bat first but could only make 136 all out in 34 overs and Ringmer passed that total for the loss of only three wickets in 33.3 overs.