Dennis beats the menace of the rough to win Mann Scratch Cup

Piltdown champion Dennis Tyson
Piltdown champion Dennis Tyson
Share this article

The Piltdown Championship – otherwise known as the Mann Scratch Cup – was fought out over 36 holes on Sunday, and won by Dennis Tyson with gross scores of 81 and 78.

The results were: Foursomes winners:  Rosie Chisholm-Hil and Jane Rodgers from Ifield; Methuselah Decanter (for the best score by a player over 70): Joy Cobban from Willingdon; Lattery Trophy Handicap Prize: Kim Yates from Goodwood; Scratch Prize: Ann Howard from Copthorne.

Above: Dennis Tyson, right, receives the Cup from Director of Golf Ken Bulteel.