Frenetic race for Sussex Revolution Velo members at Dunsfold

Christ Hewitt 3HJN_e7vVpIwKgkcPwRN
Christ Hewitt 3HJN_e7vVpIwKgkcPwRN

Chris Hewitt, Charlie Deacon and Andy Larking of Sussex Revolution Velo Club recently raced in the 3rd category race at the Surrey League opener at Dunsfold.

The road circuit was gently rolling with a few short stabs each lap, but no major climbs. Rain, sleet, average temperature of 0°C and potholes made for challenging racing conditions.

The race was frenetic with many attempts at breakaways being made. All of them were pulled back, with attempts from Addiscombe CC and Paceline RT swiftly dealt with by the SRVC team. Chris worked hard on the front of the pack all race to chase down breaks and set the pace.

On the final lap, the pack split into two large groups. Andy and Charlie bridged the gap to Chris in the lead group. Coming into the final stretch, Charlie worked his way up the right side to near the front with Chris. With Chris’s orders being shouted in the wind, Charlie lead Chris out to a deserved 7th place (of 47) finish up a final ramp. Andy and Charlie finished mid-pack. 7 laps, 51 miles @ 23.5mph. SRVC race next at the Surrey League event at Cutmill on the 12th.

Full results:

1 George Wells Handsling Racing

2 Joshua Hobbs Team ASL 360

3 Shane Pope Crawley Wheelers

4 peter clifton Twickenham CC

5 Jake Yarranton Pedal Heaven Excel Academy

6 Paul Drake Maison Du Velo

7 Chris Hewitt Sussex Revolution VC

8 Thomas Hansell Addiscombe CC

9 Ashley Russell London Dynamo

10 Justin Thomas Dorking

11 keith scott VC Meudon

12 Richard Balfour Addiscombe CC

13 james croughton In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT

14 Adam Leech Dorking CC

15 Colin Gunn Paceline RT

16 Valentino Fontana Saddle Drunk RT

17 Chris Jenkinson VC Meudon

18 Nicholas Rowe Kingston Wheelers

19 Simon Dowling Brighton Mitre

20 Tom Herbert Kingston Wheelers

21 Stephen Harvey Paceline RT

22 Adam Stone Paceline R.T

23= Paul Hone Addiscombe CC

23= Marek Siwicki Addiscombe CC

23= Jonathan Pontin Addiscombe CC

23= Ian Bray Addiscombe CC

23= Jed Williamson ASL360

23= Richard Moult Brighton Mitre

23= Joel Draper Brighton Mitre CC

23= Mark Smith CC London

23= Axel Waldecker Dulwich Paragon CC

23= Paul Walsingham Horsham cycling

23= Harry Bunnell Kingston Wheelers

23= Joseph Thom Kingston Wheelers

23= Peter Hair Kingston Wheelers

23= Rupert Gordon-Watkins Kingston Wheelers CC

23= Neil Grunshaw KIngston Wheelers CC

23= Nick Davis Kingston Wheelers CC


23= Jason Ginn Southdowns Bikes

23= Gavin Jones Sussex Revolution VC

23= Andrew Larking Sussex Revolution VC

23= Charles Deacon Sussex Revolution Velo Club

23= James McCarthy Twickenham CC

23= Stefan Atanasov VC Colets

23= Dean Corney VC Meudon

Don’t miss out on all the latest breaking news where you live.

Here are four ways you can be sure you’ll be amongst the first to know what’s going on.

1 Make this website your homepage

2 Like our Facebook page at

3 Follow us on Twitter @SportSussex

4 Register with us by clicking on ‘sign in’ (top right corner). You can then receive our daily newsletter AND add your point of view to stories that you read here.

And do share with your family and friends - so they don’t miss out!