Lewes AC runners award winners at the Crowborough 10K

Karin Divall, Lewes AC
Karin Divall, Lewes AC

Competing against nearly 400 runners in the Crowborough 10K there were some great results for Lewes AC runners.

This six and a quarter mile road race is run over two laps that include a strength sapping hill approached across a ford made deeper by recent rains.

Making light work of the challenge David Bradford led the men home in 5th place in a time of 35mins 01sec.just one second from breaking the 35min barrier on this tough course. Leading the Lewes women home was Lara Barazzuol who was the 4th woman finisher and second senior women in a time of 42mins 14sec.

Lara’s finishing position helped the Lewes AC women runners secure the third team prize a few points adrift from Haywards Heath Harriers in first and Hastings Runners in second place. The Lewes AC team members with were Lara Barazzuol, Sarah Godley (45.23) and Karin Divall (47.48)

As well as being part of the bronze medal winning Lewes AC women’s team Karin Divall was also an award winner in her own right. Competing in the over 55-59 age category Karin won the award for being first in her category. Just missing out on first place in their age categories were Andrew Chitty who finished second in the 60-64 age group with a time of 43mins 33sec and Bob Hughes who also finished second in the 65-69 age category in a time of 50mins 05secs.

Other Lewes AC runners taking up the challenge of the race were Dominic Osman-Allu (43.22) David Foster (46.04) Carl Dowling (46.41) Ian Hilder (48.10) Karen Morse (51.32) and Rachel Horningold (52.46)

As well as receiving awards from the Crowborough 10K the opportunity was taken to present awards from the Sussex Road Race Challenge. Run over four Sussex race s the finishing positions for Sussex runners from all Sussex clubs are added together to make the awards. In the men’s category there were 4 Lewes AC runners in the top 10. Mat Bradford (3rd) David Bradford (6th) Lewis Sida (8th) and Chris Gilbert (9th). In the women’s category Lara Barazzuol claimed 4th prize.

These results meant that the combined total of points secured Lewes AC the overall team prize. The winning team members were Mat and David Bradford; Lewis Sida; Lara Barazzuol; Joscelin Lowden; Emma Roberts’ Helen Sida; Lizzie Keep and Maddie Smith.