Lewes Wanderers celebrate successes at awards night

Lewes Wanderers award winners. By Lawrence Watts
Lewes Wanderers award winners. By Lawrence Watts

Over sixty members of the Lewes Wanderers Cycling Club gathered to celebrate the success of club members at the annual award evening, hosted by Chairman Chris Martin who enlivened events with his entertaining and humorous presentation.

Tom Glandfield swept the honours board winning the Senior, Veterans and short distance BAR, along with the Classic League competition. The icing on the cake for Tom was finishing seventh in the National BAR with a remarkable average speed of 26.043 mph over the 50,100 and 12 hour events. Tamar Vanderhaas rewrote the record books with a string of remarkable rides including a sub hour 25 mile ride. Tamar managed to smash eleven club records over the season, surely a record breaking achievement in itself! Tamar won the female BAR with a record breaking average speed of 24.629 over the 10, 25 and 50 mile distances.

Jamie Lowden marked a spectacular season by setting a new club 25 record in a time of 50:26. Jamie then went on to win the prestigious Catford Hill climb, followed by an impressive seventh place in the National Hill climb. Jamie is taking a sabbatical year to race professionally and all the Wanderers wish him well in pursuit of his dreams. To pick a highlight for the season is a tough call, but the superb performance of Paul Gibbons, Micky Turner and Peter Baker in the 24 hour event resulted in them becoming the National Champions, a first for the Wanderers in their illustrious history.

Fast improving Darren Brockhurst deservedly won the Middlemarkers competition whilst Matt Coombs rounded off a productive year by winning the Points Competition. The Vet’s awards were fiercely contested by Peter Baker and Dominic Lowden, both who had continued success over the year. Rob Rollings underlined his tremendous potential by winning the club 25 mile Championship and the LWCC Evening Criterium road race series, a stunning performance against some fierce opposition. Phil Allen took the 30 and 50 mile trophies.

Two further awards on the night were presented to riders who embody the inclusive ethos of the club. Paget Cohen deservedly won the Zonca Bradshaw trophy in recognition for his effort and perseverance over the year. The final award, the Merit Cup, fittingly went to the club runs leader and Wanderers stalwart, Ian McGuckin, along with a Dennis the Menace hooter to keep the club run in order! Ian christened the hooter on the club run the following day, though I am not sure all members appreciated the incessant honking in their fragile state induced from the previous evening’s frivolities.

The Wanderers would like to extend their thanks to the Alma public house for a superb evening splendidly organised by club social secretary Simon Yates. A comprehensive list of all awards and winners can be found at www.leweswanderers.co.uk