Lewes win round one of Cyril Blake Trophy

ON a very windy and wet Monday afternoon, the Lewes Golf Club Seniors team faced their opponents Littlehampton in the first round of the SCGU Cyril Blake Cup.

The team of Lionel Dorn and Trevor Goswell, Terry Ferber and Dick Turk, Paul Harley and Doug Burgess and Brian Mitchel and Bob Ellis beat the visitors 4-0.

They will now play Willingdon in the second round at home on June 14.

Saturday saw the Men’s team take on Willingdon in a friendly match, with the Lewes team the victors by a score of 4-2.

Sunday morning saw the men compete for the Sharp Cup. The winner on the day was David Cosham, with a nett 67, with Trevor Goswell second beaten on countback. Stewart Begbie was third with nett 68.

On Sunday afternoon the Ladies competed for the Knights Bowl. Anna Worth returned a fantastic score of nett 67, with Sue Richardson second on nett 74 and Tricia Wilcox third with nett 75. The midweek stableford was won by Henry Hilton with 39 points; Steve Verth was second with 37 points and Eric Cramp was third with 36 points.

Tuesday’s Summer Eclectic was won by Tom Richardson with 32 points. Paul Thomsett was second with 30 points and John Abbott was third with 29 points.

The weekend before was a busy one up at Lewes Golf Club. The Saturday Medal of April 14 was won by Trevor Gasson with a nett 66. Runner-up was Peter Franklin with a nett 67 and third was Eric Cramp with a nett 67.

The mens’ monthly Stableford on the Sunday was won by Allan Brown with 37 points. Simon Hayward-Tapp was second with 36 points and James Lee third on countback with 36 points. The Ladies Sunday Stableford was won by Christine Robinson with 33 points and runner-up was Ellen Dunne with 30 points.

The scratch team qualifier for the forthcoming season also took place on Sunday with players competing over 36 holes to earn their place in the team. The top four on the day were Lawrie Tremlett, Mark Hilton, Jon Williams and AJ Boyse who gain automatic entry to the side.

The first three weeks of the 2012 summer eclectic have now been played in varying degrees of weather, some more summery than others. Week one was won by Clive Richardson 31 points, second Dave Windless (29) and third Dick Turk (29). Week two was won by Steve Easton (31), second James Dean (28) and third Paul Thompsett (27). Week three was won by Paul Thompsett( 28), second was Tony Redshaw (27) and third Terry Ferber (26).

The weather over the Easter weekend certainly proved variable as members of Lewes GC played for the traditional Easter trophies. The winner of the Clark Bowl for the best two-bogey rounds was Tony Nicol at +9, with Ade Hardcastle in second place, also with +9.

The Alan Hartnell Cup for the best one-bogey round was Ian Burch with +7.

The Ladies Easter trophy was won by Mandy Quick with rounds of 34 and 38 points, with Mandy Hilton runner-up with rounds of 35 and 34 points.

The Monthly Stableford of March 25 was won by Ian Burch with 39 points, beating Vinnie Ashton on countback with Jez Graves third with 38 points.

The April 1 Monthly Medal (Div 1) was won by Stewart Begbie (nett 67) with Andrew Fuller second on countback. Div 2 was won by Duncan Fisher with nett 70 and second Ade Hardcastle on 73 nett. The Ladies Monthly Medal was won by Mandy Hilton (nett 77), Jean Fears second with nett 82.