Newhaven and Seaford Sailing Club award night

THE Newhaven and Seaford Sailing Club trophy presentation was held at the clubhouse on Seaford beach.

The event was a culmination of the many racing events and regattas the club hold throughout last year and the presentation was accompanied by a buffet celebration with music. Over the course of the evening 49 trophies were presented by the Mayor of Seaford.

There were a few sailors that sailed fantastically last summer and won more that one trophy or cup. The list of winners is as follows: Michael Veale (Secretaries cup), Dave Robertson and J Robertson (Vice commodores cup), Alex Mills Barton (Gunfleet trophy), Ed Thorburn (Bosuns Cup), Darren Field (Chairmans Cup), Sasha Stonnard (RNLI Plaque), Dorinda Dodd (Ladies Crew Cup), Jessica Cox (Lady Helm Cup), Bill Wates (Courage cup), Alan Oatway (Crews Cup), Dave Edwards and Alan Oatway (Enterprise Shield), Alex and Louis Gorringe (Tony Barr trophy), Alice Smith (Tina Trophy), Rupert Smith and Carolyn Turner (Jean Barnard Plate), Rupert Smith and Alice Smith (Burfoot Cup), Mike Godwin (The Mirror Goblet and Wallis Cup), Terry Jones (Roberts Cup and Pirouette Cup), Arf and Arf Syndicate (Condor Cup and Hedges Cup), Jonty Freeman (Cadet Helm and Len Miller cup), Steve Duncan (Churston Cup and Little Cup), Charlie Gribble (Enterprise Trophy and Laser Trophy), Ralf Teubert and Stuart Little (Squib Bowl, Squib Trophy and Tempo Cup), Matt Springall (Teapot Trophy, Merlin Plate, Howatson Cup, Royal Sovereign Cup, the Clubhouse Trophy, Commodores Cup, Challenge Cup), Laurence Venus (Tamlin Cup, Blois Johnson Cup, Wayfarer Trophy, Waller Cup, Lewes Cup, Lycidas Trophy, Trapidos Trophy, Pegasus Trophy, Seahaven Cup, Games Tourney Cup, Tufton Beamish Cup, Sussex Express Cup, Cup Winners Cup).

As well as offering congratulations to the cup winners who sail regularly at Seaford and Piddinghoe, a special mention has to go to Alex Mills-Barton who has made it to the RYA Olympic Squad.

It was conformed last year that Alex had been selected for the Olympic Development Squad as the result of his international achievements in 2010. But he is now part of the full Team GBR Olympic Squad.

This has been the culmination of four years hard work on Alex’s behalf after his Silver at the U17 Radial World Championships in 2006 gave him the belief to dream higher. Newhaven and Seaford Sailing Club has been proud to see Alex develop from his first days on the Piddinghoe training lake.

Young Laser Standard sailor Alex received an additional boost to his flourishing campaign after he was awarded the coveted Marlow Ropes Award.

Alex has been sailing the Laser Standard for three years and in August last year he picked up a bronze medal at the U21 World Championships, a turning point in his developing career. He followed that with an invitation to join the Skandia Team GBR Development Squad in the autumn giving him access to an array of World class training resources used by Britain’s Olympic gold medal winning sailors – a real stepping stone to succeeding at the highest level.

“Last year was the first year I’d managed to pull the results together for the whole event,” he said.

“The years before I managed to put in the odd good race but with no real consistency – that’s the thing I’ve really started to build up quite well and that’s made the big difference for me in 2010.

“To have what I’ve achieved in 2010 recognised is amazing and it makes it all worthwhile really that someone’s seen what I’ve done and obviously thinks I’ve got the potential to get to the next level.

“I’m now really motivated to keep doing what I’ve been doing and putting all the hard work in as it’s all paying off and starting to come together. We’ve got the Junior U21 Worlds in France this year and I’ll be hoping to win those and I’d also like to try and get some more top 20 results at the ISAF World Cup series events.”