Newick’s Peter Carter makes it to the Champion of Champions final

NEWICK Bowls Club’s Peter Carter has made it to the Final of Champion of Champions.

In the semi-final at Worthing Pavilion last Tuesday Peter beat Nigel Hooper of Sidley Martletts 21-15.

On County Finals Day, Sunday August 7, at Bexhill he will now meet Nick Goodman of Petworth. The time will not be announced until a few days beforehand when the finalists for all county competitions are known. Well done, Peter. The club has now put back its Charity Day to the following Friday so that members can support him.

On a chilly evening at Lindfield, the home team just managed a six shot win over Newick. Des Foord’s rink was soon well ahead against Keith Holman’s but the Lindfield four came back strongly and finished 16 shots ahead. It was the reverse for John Baker’s rink that started off badly against Tom Palmer’s and they were 11-4 down at one stage. However, encouraged by good accurate bowling from Julia Trimmer, they stuck at it and finally won 18-16. Peter Carter’s rink won convincingly over Joe Galleli so Newick picked up four points for winning on two rinks, leaving them third from bottom of their table.

In the John Spriggs League playing at home Newick lost by one shot to Lindfield, despite being well in front half way through. Maurice Awcock had the only winning rink.

RESULTS: Lindfield 59 (6pts) Newick 53 (4pts): Joe Galleli 13 Peter Carter 21, John Baker 18 Tom Palmer 16, Peter Carter 21 Joe Galleli 13. Newick 46 (two points) Lindfield 47 (eight points): Maurice Awcock 19 Gus O’Donnell 10, Howard Ainsley 14 Peter Teague 18, Ron Pateman 13 Ken Eldred 19. Seaford 132 Newick 116: Yvonne Newbold 26 Des Foord 19, Brian James 8 Howard Ainsley 29, Danny Freelove 16 Tommy Towner 29, Bob Geering 23 Janet Birch 11, Colin Newbold 29 Maurice Awcock 13, Ted Pattison 30 June Page 15. Newick 108 Crawley Town 61: Margaret Smith 24 John Mason 9, Jonathan Couper 13 Brian Knott 24, Ken Cunningham 28 Tony Wagon 7, Janet Birch 15 Sylvia Brinkley 10, Ali Atkinson 28 T Rance 11. Newick 93 Crowborough W 68: Maurice Awcock 23 Peter Flint 13, Janet Birch 22 Peter Hounslow 10, Derek Blundy 12 Bob Houston 18, Margaret Smith 15 Peter Fry 17, Jim Payne 21 D Boobier 10. Newick 123 Sussex Vice Pres 95: John Baker 23 Mike Lambert 14, Norman Birch 15 Roy Tuohy 16, Peter Carter 10 Ken Ross 23, Howard Ainsley 16 John Robinson 23, Keith Mellor 33 Clive Wratten 6, Ken Cunningham 26 Bob Divine 13. Victoria Drive and Eastbourne Ladies 71 Newick 64: Jan Field 9 Tommy Towner 24, Ron Gray 18 Janet Birch 11, Ron Fenner 24 Margaret Smith 10, Chris Field 20 Ken Cunningham 19.

Horam & District Bowls League: Mayfield v Herstmonceux (July 13): Ceux 79 shots, Mayfield 51 shots: League points Herstmonceux 7, Mayfield 1: (Ceux skips first) D Southouse 35 B Day 9, C Southouse 14 B Redman 12, G Keeley 15 B Bankier 18, T Everingham 15 E Baldock 12.