Snooker News with Ian Muldoon

Share this article

PEACEHAVEN A, who three years ago won the first ever Lewes summer snooker cup, again reached the final of the John Summers trophy. They will play either Seaford Con B or Uckfield in the final.

Peacehaven A finally vanquished opponents Seaford A when Richie Barrett potted pink and black to edge out Seaford skipper Gary Page in the three red mini-frame decider. Earlier in the evening Richie beat Darren Short 62(33)-47 and 72-32 to put his side ahead.

Seaford restored parity when Ben Steer beat Steve Gaine, clearing the colours to win his first frame 50-36 before taking the next by 53-39.

Seaford were now favourites with Gary Page to play Simon Hall, given that Simon nowadays concentrates on his billiards and rarely plays snooker, and indeed Gary put Seaford ahead with a 57-21 win.

But Simon left Gary few scoring chances in the sixth frame, and steadily accumulated points to win 70-23. So after three of the quarter-finals had gone to a play-off, the first semi-final took the same course.

Lewes will travel to Hassocks on September 5 to play the Mid-Sussex league, with six-man teams at both A and B level. The B team selection is still to be finalised, but the Lewes A team will comprise Gary Page (captain), Ashley Bull and Sean Payne (all Seaford), Dave Lewney and Paul Scorer (Cliffe Legion), and Pat Adams (Uckfield).

Following two 6-6 draws, Lewes won this fixture 7-5 last year at Uckfield. They will certainly face stiff opposition, not least from Mark “Shaky” Coles, who warmed up nicely for the coming winter season with a 125 break at Keymer.

In billiards the quarter final stages of the Frank Sandell Cup saw three close finishes. The exception was at Cliffe Legion, whose A team saw off visitors Seaford Con A 12-3, with wins from Barry Martin (twice) and your correspondent.

Summer league winners Uckfield B beat Cliffe Legion B 13-11, despite a promising debut for Cliffe by Dave Lewney, who beat inter-league opponents Pat Adams and Steve Roberts.

Peacehaven B edged out Uckfield C 13-12, even though Kent champion Andy Phillips won his matches. Wins from Richie Barrett and Simon Hall just got Peacehaven over the line.

Seaford B defeated Burwash in an even closer finish when Ben Steer won the last game to square the match at 12-12.

Aggregate points then determined the result; Seaford scored 327 and Burwash 324.