Storming run from Leo in South England Cross Country Champs

Leo Brewer was the top runner from Sussex and finished sixth
Leo Brewer was the top runner from Sussex and finished sixth

A young runner from Lewes was in top form as more than 2,600 competitors took part in the South Of England Cross Country Championships at Stanmer Park.

First up were 227 runners in the under 13 boys race and Leo Brewer showed all other Sussex runners a clean pair of heels as he stormed to a fantastic sixth place.

Only beaten by runners from London, Cambridge, Aldershot and the Chilterns Leo was just 13 seconds off the gold medal.

Leo’s great run helped the Lewes AC team of Jay Atkins (66th) Ben Walters (68th) and Sam Horn (117th) to a team position of 8th and the first Sussex team in the race.

In the under 13 girls race Eva Johnson-Ellis finished in 109th position in a race of 247 competitors.

In a quality race with runners from across the whole of the South East region it is a great result to finish well in the top half.

Moving up the age groups there were some great individual performances but little success in the team competitions. The under 17 men secured 13th team position in a hotly contested race of 156 runners.

First for Lewes AC was Toby Baker in 103rd position followed by James Martin (115th); Harry Strong (139th) and Tom Stone (150th):

Without six runners to make up a scoring team the senior men nevertheless had some great individual performances in a race of 857 runners.

The first Lewes AC runner was Mat Bradford who finished in 118th position.

By making the top 15% in what was a tough 15 kilometre race represented a superb performance.

Following Mat to the finish line was Chris Gilbert (235th); Andrew Masters (306th); Jonathon Burrell (360th) and Ben Messer (361st)

Whilst 29 Lewes AC runners battled it out at Stanmer Park on Saturday on the Sunday 27 other club members took part with 700 other runners in the Lido 4 mile race along the Worthing Sea Front.

First across the line for Lewes in 13th position was Andrew McLennon followed by Mat Brass in 18th place.

These positions earned the club the maximum 10 scoring points as did Gusavo Iniarte (23rd) Ranieri Brook Barbieri (24th) and Ed Tuckley (26th)

Also earning 10 scoring points for the club and having great runs were Maria Barrow as the 5th women finisher supported by Megan Taylor (6th) Catherine Swinson (7th) and Sarah Godley (9th).

With 284 women in the race these were truly great finishing positions.

When the scoring points from the other 18 club runners in the race were added to those scoring 10 points Lewes AC scored the maximum of 84 points.

This total meant Lewes AC won the Fun Run League race by just one point from Arunners and Steyning AC.