Trophy event played in memory of Eddie


Ernie Goldring was the Club Professional at Lewes for 28 years until 1990, and the trophy event played in his memory each year decides which 16 pairs of members will take on the current professional, Tony Hilton, and club captain Ian Newman in the Turkey Trot series of matches through the summer.

This year’s event was as warmly contested as ever, with the top 16 pairs all returning better-bell scores of 38 or more.

In the end the trophy went to Tim Evans and Ashleigh Oliver, who just edged out Steve Verth and Stewart Begbie. Both pairs totalled 43 points. Alan Burrows and Ron Brown were third, on 41.

Ron also did well in the penultimate round of the Winter Eclectic on Saturday, but his impressive 43 points were only good enough for second place. Martyn Williams, with the same score, took the first prize on countback. Lionel Dorn finished third with 41 points.

In changeable weather on Sunday, Darren Clarke won the Men’s Monthly Stableford with 41 points, getting the better of Paul Thomsett - also 41 - on countback. Ian Richardson, on 40, was third.

Meanwhile the ladies played their second Cancer Relief event of the week, and this time Katy Curtis came out on top with 37 points, followed by Diana Mitchell and Ellen Dunne, both 35. Pat Mullins had won the earlier event with 33 points, with Diana Mitchell second again, this time with 32 points, and Vicky Scott, also on 32, placed third on countback.

The Midweek Stableford winner was Sid Francis, whose 34-point score saw him two clear of Ian Baker and Tony Grainger, both 32.