Uckfield RFC celebrate historic triple title-winning season

UCKFIELD Rugby Football Club celebrated the completion of one of the best seasons ever in the club’s long history at its annual dinner and awards night at town’s Civic Centre.

The Dinner/Dance not only celebrated the end of Uckfield RFC’s great season but allowed the club’s president, chairman, club captain and committee to all publicly recognise the contributions made by the teams and club members. All three congratulated the players on a successful season, with all three teams winning their respective leagues.

Club captain Robbie Cannon said on the event: “It was a really enjoyable evening and a great way to say thank you to all of the players and supporters who have made this a very memorable season.

“I’d like to thank all of the individuals, sponsors and companies who contributed to the the club as a whole.”

Master of Ceremonies Robbie said how happy he was with the quantity and quality of players coming up into the 3rds from the junior section of the club, with some breaking into the 1st XV in their first senior season.

Kevin Martin who will be the club’s ‘senior rugby coordinater next season, said: “The future is looking bright at URFC, with the new team of head coach Jody Levett (ex-Worthing captain) and player/coach Jon Fordham, who is returning Uckfield after spells at Haywards Heath and Brighton.

“These are excellent appointments and we know we will go into next season as best prepared as we can.”

With the speeches kept surprisingly short for a change, all that remained was the presentation of the trophies before the merriment and dancing (and copious drinking) could continue.

The trophies were presented by the club president Mr Peter Reeves and were as follows:

n Kieron Martin: Young Player of the Year (Under 21);

n Adrian Evans: Veterans Player of the year;

n Adam Palmer: Sportsman’s Award;

n URFC 1st Team: team of the year;

n Dan (Irish) McCabe: First Team player of the year;

n Bryan Huxley: Second Team player of the year;

n Mihai Ficu: Third Team player of the year;

n Philip George Douse: Senior player of the year (Over 21);

n Joel Forward: Players’ player of the year.

n Gregg Chappell: Top try-scorer 2010-2011.