Ringmer brought back to earth by Uckfield after encouraging Laughton draw

East Sussex Cricket League Divisions 10-13

Ringmer 3rd XI* 77 Uckfield Anderida 2nd XI 81-2

AFTER last week’s encouraging draw at Laughton, Ringmer’s 3rd XI were quickly brought back down to earth by this heavy eight-wicket defeat to a strong Uckfield Anderida side who will surely be one of the leading teams in Division 10 this year.

Ringmer were put into bat by Uckfield and lasted only 27 overs in registering a very disappointing 77 all out. The two main bowling stars for Uckfield were Joe Burns, who took 3-14 off seven overs and Andy Turner, who bowled exceptionally well in taking 6-27 off nine overs.

In reply, Uckfield had an early wobble when losing two quick wickets; however, opener Nick Huntley and Will Taylor steered the away team to a very comfortable win, scoring 50 and 25 not out respectively.

Laughton 2nd XI 246-7 Glynde & Beddingham 4th XI* 199

GLYNDE lost by 47 runs at home to Laughton.

The visitors batted first after being inserted by Glynde, and Craig Neal (94) and Mark Buttifant (75) added 134 for the third wicket, after Laughton had lost both openers with only 13 runs on the board.

Roy Gower (40) added late runs for Laughton, with Phillip Cramp (4-59), being Glynde’s most successful bowler.

The highlight of the Glynde innings was a superb 136 from Phillip’s brother, Matthew Cramp, who hit his first senior century for the club. The youngster was in superb form, but unfortunately for him and his side, only Ross Bennett and Cameron Cox of the other Glynde batsmen were able to reach double figures – and that was only 11. Duncan Easton (4-27), Craig Neal (2-46) and Fergus Richardson (2-54) were the chief detroyers.

OTHER RESULTS: Lewes Priory 3rx XI conceded at home to Mayfield 2nd XI; Linden Park 4th XI 124 (overs unspecified; Phil Bill 28; Jake Lambert 6-41) won by 5 runs at home to Pevensey 2nd XI 119 (overs unspecified; Radesh Ewchappillil 37; Michael Taylor 3-45). Maresfield 2nd XI 160-6 dec (50 ovs; Derek Barnard 28; Keith Hobbs 3-10) lost by 6 wickets at home to Hastings Priory 4th XI 161-4 (42.1 ovs; Abigail Freeborn 85*; Chris Pullen 2-27).


Newick 3rd XI 210-6 dec Robertsbridge 3rd XI* 150-9

THIS draw was another good result for Robertsbridge.

Their captain, Alastair Neill, won the toss and put the visitors in. Newick made a steady start against some tight bowling from Glen Wells (2-27), and Charlie Honnor (2-53).

The first three wickets fell with the score on 37 after 18 overs. This brought in the Newick skipper, Chetan Patel (38), who hit his first ball for six. His innings included five others before he was caught and bowled by Nick Moor.

Gary Waylett (38) played a patient innings and was later joined by Nick Heater (54 not out) who proceeded in making the boundaries look small by hitting four sixes and five fours – and leading his team to a declaration and maximum batting points.

In reply, Moor (44) and Steve Whittaker (13) made a steady start. Wickets fell regularly after Whittaker was out and it was left to Glen Wells (55 not out) and debutant Ben Matthews to see out the draw.

OTHER RESULTS: Crowhurst Park 3rd XI 220-7 (50 ovs; Chris Bick 57, Alex Laye 65; Zak Hearsey 4-29) drew at home to Seaford 4th XI 204-9 (43 ovs; Jonathan Sapwell 97; Ivan Flanagan 3-17, Chris Ford 3-13). Pett 2nd XI 214-6 dec (42 ovs; Paul Fagan 65, Paul Stapley 43; Terry Noon 3-83) won by 169 runs away to Heathfield Park 3rd XI 45 (16.2 ovs; George Griffiths 18; Bruce Whiteman 6-21); Firle 2nd XI 185 (50 overs) drew away to Newhaven 3rd XI 96-5 (43 overs). Sidley 3rd XI 163-9 (50 ovs; Jim Stewart 25; Mark Shimmons 2-21) lost by 7 wickets at home to Willingdon 3rd XI 164-3 (37.3 ovs; Mark Shimmons 91*; Chris Milton 2-30).

DIVISION TWELVE RESULTS: DPB (Eastbourne) 2nd XI 203 (49.2 overs) drew at home to Lewes St Michaels 3rd XI 129-9 (43 overs). Hellingly 4th XI conceded at home to Hailsham 3rd XI. St Peters, Brighton 4th XI 57 (21.1 ovs; Curtis Cambert 18; Ritchie Moore 5-17) lost by 7 wickets away to Mayfield 3rd XI (13 overs; Nigel Iverson 20; Alan Perrin 1-1). Uckfield Anderida 3rd XI 275-6 dec (47 ovs; Richard Coates 102*, Mark Greenslade 48) drew with Rye 3rd XI 235-1 (46 ovs; Anthony Cousins 104*, Ben Clifton 55*; Mark Greenslade 1-71). Wadhurst 3rd XI 41 (overs unspecified; Jamie Crawford 18; Callum Phillimore 4-15) lost by 7 wickets at home to Bexhill 5th XI 42-3 (overs unspecified; Matthew Edwards 12; Edward Harwood 3-13).

DIVISION THIRTEEN RESULTS: Bells Yew Green 4th XI 49 (20.2 ovs; Iain Allan 13; Colin Coddington 3-5 off five overs) lost by 8 wickets away to Buxted Park 4th XI 53-2 (Joe Marchesi 27*; Harry Tomlinson 2-8). Little Common Ramblers 3rd XI 225-8 dec (49 ovs; Martin Mitchell 56*, Lloyd Stickells 72) won by 103 runs at home to Crowhurst Park 4th XI (38 ovs; Grant Chalk 4-40, Lloyd Stickells 4-19). Newick 4th XI 110 (overs unspecified; Freddie Dean 22; David White 5-16 off 11 overs) lost by 8 wickets at home to Tunbridge Wells Borderers 3rd XI 111-2 (overs unspecified; Graham Bishopp 49*; Ben Dean 2-16). Sidley 4th XI 171-7 dec (50 ovs; Phillip Crittenden 60) won by 2 runs at home to Rye 4th XI 169 (42.5 ovs; Dennis Pearce 35; Peter Savage 8-48).