McGowan in Barbarians squad for Remembrance match

WORTHING Raider Charlie McGowan is in the squad for the Barbarians’ Remembrance match against a Combined Services XV at Plymouth tonight.

L45081H13-RugbyWorthingRaiders. Rugby. Worthing Raiders V Coventry. Action from the match.

The fixture is a showpiece for services rugby, which will honour fallen comrades and raise money for the Royal British Legion Poppy Appeal.

Second-rower McGowan has been selected in the invitational team’s squad, nicknamed the Baa-Baas, which is being coach by former Raiders head coach, now Cornish Pirates boss, Ian Davies.

Sign up to our daily SussexWorld Today newsletter

McGowan joins former Bath and England prop Duncan Bell, who is now coach at Lydney, as part of the 22-man squad.

The services players will wear new purple shirts tonight, an amalgamation of the colours of the three services, with poppies on the front and back which will be presented to their players by Richard Hill, the former England flanker.

The services squad includes Fiji international back-row forward Apo Satala and former Exeter prop Chris Budgen. Hooker Matt Dwyer faces a late fitness check after he took a knock playing for Ospreys against Leicester in the LV Cup match at Welford Road on Friday.

The match at Brickfields, the home of Plymouth Albion, kicks off at 7.15pm.

COMBINED SERVICES: Backs -J Foster (Royal Navy), A Gillespie (RAF), J Humphrey (Royal Navy), D Huntley (Royal Navy), P Nacamavuto (Army), D Pascoe (Royal Navy), J Prasad (Army), D Sleeman (Royal Navy), S Speight (Army), M Tichias (Royal Navy). Forwards - D Ball (Army), K Beasley (Royal Navy), C Budgen (Army), T Coghlan (RAF), R Cooke (Army), M  Cormack (Royal Navy), M Dwyer (Army), G Evans (Royal Navy), M  Koroyadi (Army), S Laird (Royal Navy), L Jope (Army), S  Philpott (RAF), A Satala (Army), N Titchard-Jones (Army).

BARBARIANS: Backs - B Davies (Coventry and Wales), A Davis (Loughborough Students), C Goudie (Heriot’s), C  Mayor (Sale), T Riley (Cornish Pirates), C Ferguson (Heriot’s), D  Flanagan (Pontypridd), A Davies (London Welsh), R Cushion (Plymouth Albion). Forwards - L Ovens (Rosslyn Park), A Paver (Cornish Pirates), L Niven (Edinburgh), D Bell (Lydney and England), C Hawkins (Llanelli), G Turner (Edinburgh), H Pugh (Carmarthen Quins), C Dicomidis (Pontypridd and Cyprus), C  McGowan (Worthing), J Freeman (Loughborough Students), R  Oakley (Plymouth Albion and Wales), S Harding (Bedford), D  Eager (Llanelli).