Saints beat Dean in InterSport of Lewes Trophy Final

Share this article

InterSport of Lewes Trophy Final – Rottingdean CC 1st XI 152 (33.3 overs) Lewes Saint Michaels CC 1st XI 153-4 (33.4 overs)

Lewes Saint Michaels Cricket Club have won the East Sussex Cricket League Intersport of Lewes Trophy, beating Rottingdean by six wickets on a glorious Saturday afternoon at Forest Row.

A fantastic game of cricket was contested in great spirit by two sides that had each acheived promotion from their divisions this season, watched by a coach-load of travelling Saints supporters in the bright sunshine.

James Grantham starred for ESCL Division One champions Rottingdean with a 77 from No 4, while Mark Jordan took a magnificent 5-22 off 7.3 overs.

In reply, Lewes reached their target in relative ease, five players reaching at least 18 and Ashley Deller-Merricks ending unbeaten on 32 for the innings’ top score.

The Saints’ performance typified their excellent season, which has also seen them promoted to East Sussex Cricket League Division Two. This win over the winners of Division One was equally impressive, and suggests that the future is bright for Lewes Saint Michaels.

Fletching beat Heathfield Park in the Plate Final.

See this week’s Sussex Express for a full match report on the Trophy Final and details on the Plate Final.