So near yet so far for Seaford 1st XI

Action from Iden 1s v Seaford 1s
Action from Iden 1s v Seaford 1s

Seaford travelled to the picturesque village of Iden full of hope that would gain their first ESCL win of the season.

Iden 1s 82-9 beat Seaford 1s 80 all out by 1 wicket

Tim Goddard

Tim Goddard

Losing the toss Seaford were invited to bat first, a decision which was fully vindicated as the Seaford batting could only muster 80 runs between them as the last wicket fell in the 43rd over. Skipper Ollie Smith top scoring with 26. The only other batsman to reach double figures was Mitch Ellingham with 12.

For Iden M Barnett claimed 5-18 with two wickets each for R Mayes and N Pearce

Seaford knew they would have to bowl and field well to pull a result out of the fire. They got off to a great start as both openers were dispatched. Danger man Michael White caught for just 8, off Tim Goddard, and Ed Avann having his off sent cartwheeling by Callum Scott (1-13) for a duck. From then on there was a steady fall of wickets as Curtis Cooper (3-22) bowled with good pace, cleaning clean bowling three Iden batters, whilst Tim Goddard wheeled away up the hill bowling his nagging tight line and length. Iden eventually slumped to- 518. Hopes of a Seaford win were high at this stage.

However, an early Christmas gift of 23 extras and some purposeful batting from the Iden tail enders, R Mayes (11*) and N Pearce (11*), saw Iden home to a narrow of 1 wicket win. Goddard, who bowled unchanged for 15.4 overs, was rewarded with figures of 5-28.

With just a few more runs from the batters and less generosity from the bowlers the result could have been a whole lot different. There was certainly not a 21 point difference between the two teams.

Iden 30 pts & Seaford 9 pts.

Seaford 2s 133-8 drew with Bells Yew Green 2s 242-3

Seaford 2nd X1 welcomed Bells Yew Green to The Salts on a warm sunny afternoon. This was a welcome change to the wet, gale force conditions of the previous week.

Seaford won the toss and after some deliberation elected to bowl first. However, things didn’t go well for the opening pair and BYG raced to 54 for 0 after the opening 10 overs. Jake Ross was the pick of the new ball bowlers without reward. Seaford didn’t break through until the 17th over with the introduction of willey slow bowler Karl Wootten taking the wicket of J. Banks for a well made 59. In all Seaford used 7 bowlers. Brad Hambly bowling the most consistent line and length. BYG used all of their allotted 50 overs and finished on 242 for 3. A. Brooks making 60 and J. Allum 53 not out.

The Seaford reply never got into full momentum and the innings stuttered along to 133 for 8 from their 43 overs. Brad Hambly made a promising 26 and Bilesh Jayamanne an encouraging 24. The two experienced heads of Karl Wootten (16) and Andy Frankis (23) saw Seaford through a tough period towards the end of the innings and the game ended in a draw.

Seaford 5 pts & BYG 18 pts